In Honor of Military Family Month, Sephora’s Veterans Share Their Stories

Sephora Life
Sephora Life
Published in
5 min readNov 14, 2018

Each November, Military Family Appreciation Month commemorates America’s military families who support our country and the people who serve. At Sephora, we honor the veterans and their families for their commitment and contributions in support of our military and our nation. In observance of this month and Veteran’s Day on November 11th, we reached out to two of our employees who have supported our country through their service in the United States military and asked them to share their stories.

Victor Blevins, Southeast Distribution Center Operations Supervisor

Why did you decide to join the military?

I decided to join the military because of the college benefits that I could receive. As a young man, I wanted to travel the world and have always had a strong sense of patriotism and wanting to serve my country.

Where and when did you serve?

I served in the United States Marine Corps from 1985 to 1991. I started at Parris Island, South Carolina; went to San Diego, California for school; and transferred to Okinawa, Japan, Mount Fuji Japan, and Subic Bay Philippines. My last duty station was Marine Corps Air Station in Beaufort, South Carolina.

How did your family support you during your service? What challenges did your family face?

Victor Blevins, center, before he went to Okinawa at 18 years old.

I went into the Marine Corps right out of high school at 17, and while my family was very supportive and proud of what I was doing, they were concerned about the fact that I joined the Marine Corps. My mother wanted me to join the Air Force, but after visiting several recruiters and having some good offers from all four branches, I chose the Marine Corps because of the challenge. She feared that I would be in harm’s way, but supported everything that I did, and was at all of my graduations and awards ceremonies.

“A lot of my fellow veterans struggle with PTSD, homelessness, and drug and alcohol issues. They need our support.”

What was the biggest thing you learned in the military?

The biggest thing that I learned in the military was how to be an effective leader; at a young age, I was given a lot of responsibility.

How can others increase their awareness/support the military community?

By getting involved with several veteran organizations and voting for legislature that supports our military and veterans. I am very fortunate to be able to have a successful career with a good company, but a lot of my fellow veterans struggle with PTSD, homelessness, and drug and alcohol issues. They need our support.

Kelli Hogan, Area Education Manager in San Diego

Why did you decide to join the military?

I joined the Army when I was 18 years old; I wanted to leave the small town I had grown up in, meet new people, and travel. I had always planned on going to college, but knew it was expensive and saw the military as a way for me to also gain education benefits and get my college paid for. It was definitely a risk for me, unlike anything I’d ever done before, but I ended up really enjoying it and it challenged me in a way I had never experienced. I met lifelong friends and even met my husband through the military, who is currently still serving.

Kelli Hogan and her now husband, Jacob, on the last day of her service in 2014.

Where and when did you serve?

I joined the Army in 2002 and served for 12 years; I was first to Iraq in 2007–2008 for Operation Iraqi Freedom, and second to Kuwait in 2011–2012 for Operation New Dawn. I was a Respiratory Therapist and part of a medical unit based in Kansas City, MO. Fun fact: When I was deployed to the Middle East, I needed my Sephora haul, we didn’t ship to APO addresses, so I would have my parents ship it to me. Lots of women in the military love makeup!

“One of the biggest things I learned was that I can do anything, even things I think aren’t possible. Successfully doing things I’d never done before gave me a huge sense of self-confidence and courage.”

How did your family support you during your service? What challenges did your family face?

My family was amazingly supportive from day one. My parents and friends sent me letters and care packages while I was deployed, visited me when I was away from home, and watched my pets while I was on military duty. My mom documented my deployments in a scrapbook, which is fun to look back on and see the pictures and letters. I think their main challenge was worry. I can speak from personal experience now that my husband is still in the military that worrying for your loved ones’ safety is the biggest struggle. Having limited communication is hard on any relationship — you have to be patient, self-reliant, and also have faith while they’re away. It’s very tough on military families, and I’m only fully realizing the extent now.

What was the biggest thing you learned in the military?

I can’t even describe the impact it’s had on my life and the lessons I’ve learned — things like working as a team, being high-performing under stress, discipline, pushing through boundaries and obstacles. One of the biggest things I learned was that I can do anything, even things I think aren’t possible. Successfully doing things I’d never done before gave me a huge sense of self-confidence and courage. The other huge lesson is gratefulness — being away from home, miserably uncomfortable, and pushed to your limits makes you truly grateful for small things like a good meal or a hot shower. It sounds small, but it’s a big thing.

How can others increase their awareness/support the military community?

Most everyone knows at least someone in the military, and they usually like to talk about their service, so just listen and be present. If they’re a family member of someone in the military, any help you can offer would be appreciated — even things like mowing their yard while they’re away, or checking their mail, can mean SO much. There are lots of volunteer opportunities and organizations geared towards the military; a few that come to mind are Soldiers’ Angels and the Wounded Warrior Project. Chances are, if you have a hobby or skill to offer, there’s a military charity for that!

--

--