What I Learned About Allyship From Joining SephoraNoir

Sephora Life
Sephora Life
Published in
4 min readFeb 21, 2019

The following article is a guest post by Kris Gucker, Editorial Content Director, and sponsored by the SephoraNoir SephoraIN Community.

I joined SephoraNoir when it first formed last year. Let’s just say, I’m not hard to spot in the group. I’m the white one. When I first joined, I looked up “how to be an ally in the workplace” online and was completely underwhelmed with the results, which basically consisted of “just listen”. Listening is all well and good, but we at Sephora are not a sit-back-and-listen culture. So what are some practical guidelines for allyship in the Sephora culture? I’m still at the beginning of my journey, but the ladies of SephoraNoir have already taught me a few of the basics. Here’s what I’ve learned so far…

Discomfort is a gift

When I attended my first few meetings, I felt very awkward and out of place. I was afraid to say anything lest it be interpreted as insensitive or ignorant. But then I realized this must be a very familiar feeling for my Black colleagues. They talked about “code switching” and the relief of having a group where they could relax and be themselves, and I thought “and this is at Sephora!” We as a company are actively working to be more inclusive, and yet we still have a way to go to create a workplace where everyone feels comfortable. So, for those who are interested in being allies, I urge you to embrace your initial discomfort. It won’t kill you, but it will make you more aware of how you think and act, and at the beginning, that’s good.

Attending a SephoraNoir team meeting

Pay attention because it moves fast

At one of the first meetings, we went around the room for ideas on programs to affect change, not only within Sephora, but in the greater community, and to broaden our client base as well. The ladies were firing off ideas so fast I didn’t have time to catch up before someone else had built on it and taken it to the next level. Could we reach out to Black educational programs? Yes we could, and here are some we know of, and also some other institutions, and contacts for them, and , and… I walked out of that meeting realizing that this is far from the first rodeo for the African American community (or the LGBTQ community, or any other disadvantaged group, for that matter). These people know how to GSD! They’ve had to.

Ask the right questions at the right time

Much of the reading I did on allyship was confusing. Some said “ask people and listen to their experiences,” and “talk about race,” while other sources angrily proclaimed that “it is not the job of people of color to educate you!” So which is it? Well, in a sense, it’s both. I started by listening and reading, and although I still don’t understand the issue the way someone living it does, I did reach a point where I felt comfortable asking how I can help. If you don’t understand, it’s OK to ask. People love to share their stories and they’ll go out of their way to include you as long as you’re helping and not demanding.

Spread the word

When I first joined SephoraNoir, I would never have dared write an article like this one for fear of saying the wrong thing in my ignorance. (Frankly, I’m still a bit nervous.) But one of the advantages in being white is that I can reach out to other white people on their own terms. As an ally you have the opportunity to be a sort of experience translator, telling the stories of others in a way with which people like yourself can identify. Just make sure you get the stories right first. Sephora is starting to move in this direction on a corporate level, telling the stories of Black brand founders, cast members, and folks in the beauty community. It’s a necessarily slow and careful process, but absolutely necessary.

Find your place and keep showing up

Staying engaged is perhaps the most important lesson I came away with. Even if it’s all you do, keep showing up. Proximity humanizes and breeds compassion. The more you’re around someone, the more likely you’ll find common ground and a common frame of reference through which you can share each others’ worlds. Just show up and let these passionate, wise, and talented ladies show you how it’s done. That’s what I intend to do.

--

--