Erik weekly: Week 3

Monday : Homepage wireframes

Brian Oko
Serial Envisioner
3 min readJun 27, 2016

--

I’ve come to realisation that with one hour is difficult to make mush progress. Still I’ve manage to get quite a lot done during today.

I made 4 different variations of Erik’s product website.

The slide approach

The content is divided in sections that explain Erik from Why? What? How? When?

The text approach

Text describing Erik with images indented in the text.

The video approach

A prerecorded video will play frame by frame as you scroll through the landing page

The Chat

The users could ask Erik questions about him directly

Tuesday (Landing Page selection)

I decided to go for the text style approach based on the nature of the app and the economy of time. That looks similar to this portfolio from Andrew Herzog.

I continued writing more content for the landing page of the website. I’m struggling to keep a serious yet enjoyable tone while not sounding to boring or TV commercial like. I’m struggling a lot.

I also need to figure out the imagery that will be inserted in the paragraphs.

Most of the content is inspired by The Art of Charm Toolbox content. I think these guys have been doing a great job. Maybe they would love to have an app like these.

Wednesday (landing page)

I’ve managed to organize a basic written structure based on the WHAT/WHY/WHO/HOW/WHEN/WHERE for the written style website.

That way I felt I could explain the whole story with more granularity. However I will reduce the amount of words and define a better tone of voice.

I’ve been also thinking on how to express some of the concepts that are used on the website that people might not be familiar with. So I abstracted an visualized the meaning using circles. I might use this idea in form of gif and link to a short explanation of the concept.

Thursday (Adding Character)

Today I added emojis to the text. I’m quite happy with the result, however I think it needs more definition on where the emojis need to be placed and if the emojis alone would communicate the words next to them.

I used the apple one because the Facebook emojis are not quite the same. The more define the more it seems to communicate (At least at this point, when emojis can be misinterpreted or have double meanings).

Facebook emoji
Apple emoji

--

--