Erik, your wingman

Erik is born

Brian Oko
Serial Envisioner
2 min readJun 12, 2016

--

Some years back I was joking with my friends about an app that could help you to pick up girls. Three days back that idea came back. Why not give that idea a chance? Conversational ui is shaping a trend, and dating apps focus on discovery of people but not on seduction or maintaining a relationship.

Planning the project

Planning is an essential part of my process. It gives me a perspective of how much time and number of tasks are needed to envision the project. It is also a reference to pay attention to as the project progresses.

I decided to spend a month per project and learn as much as possible about different topics. I divided the tasks into sections to give me clarity when executing. The tasks are ordered hierarchically by time: Script writing, UI Prototyping, Web Design, Video Production and Promotion.

Google Docs file with the project plan

Script Draft

To tell the value of Erik I decided to write 6 versions of the draft. The versions are based on peoples perspectives. Some are made from Erik’s user perspective, or the user’s friend, others from Erik itself. The purpose of this approach, is to find what’s the best way to tell a story that connects to users.

The 6 script drafts with annotations on narration style and actions happening on the video

Next week

I’ll talk about how do I get on with storyboarding and website design.

See you next week.

--

--