Romantic Fiction Serial

Beth gives Grace a stunning makeover

Wallflower to Wildflower #2: I hardly recognise myself, with dark lipstick and contouring, she’s made me look mysterious

✍ Posy Churchgate
Serial Stories
Published in
4 min readSep 15, 2022

--

Young woman in whit party dress, dark hair, bracelet, bare feet, sits on grass with roses strewn around her
Image by Jess Foami on Pixabay

Recap: Grace is shy and bookish. Her best friend Beth, who’s popular, wants Grace to accompany her to a party for the football team.

That evening I sit like Beth’s mannequin, having my hair waved and make-up applied. My friend has already scrutinised my wardrobe and found some clothes she deems ‘cute’. It’s not a combination I would have thought of, but I like the look she’s created, it makes me view myself in a good light. She’s also glued fake lashes along the edge of my eyelids, and I’m seriously impressed with the ‘Bambi’ effect.

“Don’t think I’m not grateful Beth,” I say, as I select a playlist featuring Haim and Christina and the Queens, “but why are you giving me this make-over?”

“I want you to get a boyfriend too, then we can double-date.”

She stands back and surveys my hair, which now frames my face in those ‘not trying too hard’ waves. A style I’d be too inept with the tongs to create.

“You like?” She beams happily, and I nod.

--

--

✍ Posy Churchgate
Serial Stories

Writing original Fiction without a Niche * Erotica & Romance* for More Subscribe to Ream https://reamstories.com/posy_churchgate Edits Tantalizing & Teaer Tales