Made on Midjourney

Sci-Fi | Romance

Cantari #6

Chapter Six — Cantari Bound

Kate Granger
Serial Stories
Published in
10 min readFeb 17, 2023

--

The Cantari series: P | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5

Tristan strode across the bridge towards me, furious. I’d stepped on his toes by ordering a destination to our helm officer, but the danger of hanging around without knowing the allegiance of the remaining fleet was obvious.

“We can’t go to Cantari.”

“Because you haven’t tested the drive, right?”

“Yes, exactly.”

“You’ll have to press the button some time, Tristan, and we don’t have the luxury of extensive tests and trials.”

I walked away as if to leave the bridge, diffusing a confrontation. I had no problem with Tristan taking command, but I knew he wouldn’t. The loyal military man had less time in space than I did and was about to shit his pants.

“Let’s get clear of the fleet on faster than light speed, then activate the folding space drive. Will that work, Aisla?”

“Absolutely the right choice.”

It wasn’t because no matter what we did, at some point the button must be pressed.

We cleared the fleet with no mishaps although Lars reported later that every weapon in orbit around earth pointed at us until we finally slipped out of their…

--

--

Kate Granger
Serial Stories

I explore where romance, love and emotions meet in a relationship explosion. 6 x Top Writer.