A novella in 30 chapters

Stingaree Bay: Chapter 15

Rules of Engagement

Steve Fendt
Serial Stories
Published in
3 min readApr 12, 2024

--

Cartoon: eyepiece of a telescope shows a yacht under sail with a lipstick kiss logo on the mainsail and a pirate flag at the stern.
‘No Quarter’ by Steve Fendt

JESSICA2941 11.34 a.m.
Hello Salty
It was lovely to meet you yesterday. I find you rather cute, Mr Dog.

SALTY.C.DOG 11.38 a.m.
Hi Tasha,
Same here. You, I mean lol. I’d like to take this further. If you’re still interested?

JESSICA2941 11.59 a.m.
I’d like that too. But we need to set a few ground rules first.

SALTY.C.DOG 12.38 p.m.
No worries. What do you have in mind?

JESSICA2941 12.39 p.m.
OK, Salty. Be warned: serious stuff coming up … Ready?

SALTY.C.DOG 12.41 p.m.
I’m ready.

JESSICA2941 12.53 p.m.
I want to enhance my sex life, add fun and sparkle. I am NOT looking for love. I am NOT looking for a replacement for my husband. He and I have an ‘arrangement’, but we respect each other’s feelings, play by the rules. I love him and he will always come first.

With this in mind: I will not accept any communications from you outside this app, and if you try to contact me at work, through social media…

--

--

Steve Fendt
Serial Stories

https://stevefendt.substack.com Short stories, serial fiction, memoirs of a possibly quasi-true nature. Stories of the Australian beach and bush.