Down and Up We go

The Sounds of the outside. I’m sitting in the glow of the light, waiting for the key to my friends apartment. Drunk with the pleasure of working the hours that lead to nothing. Inhaling the air of bodies in motion.

I don’t need the companionship of my mutilated iPhone. No music or vivid videos depicting bloody encounters can counter this moment of rest and restlessness.

The echo of voices supplied by a young woman earnestly retelling the incident that warrants attention. The cop studiously takes notes. He looks at me slightly. Suddenly, the parting clouds summon heat.

Ezinne Ukoha
·
1 min
·
5 cards

Read “Down and Up We go” on a larger screen, or in the Medium app!

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store