The 30 Days Running Challenge

Day1

Running Area

I’ve started countless projects from trying to learn how to play the guitar, to learning how to roller skate…i can go one and list out all my failures including the most embarrassing ones. But that’s not why i wanted to write this, i wanted to do this because, this time i’m challenging myself to run 10K 3 times a week, with zero excuse no matter what! And guest what? I started running today, and i finished my first 10K! Granted it took me almost two hours to finish but i did it! That’s what matters, and i’ll continue to get out there run, record it, earn badges, possibly inspire someone, and brag about here.

Day 2

Nike Run Club — Split

Another great push!

I’ve done another 10k, it was very painful there were times i wanted to quit because my legs were killing me, i had blisters on my feet. That’s how i realized i’m spoiled and kept on pushing.

It felt good at end — I rewarded my self with a nice icy cold beer and went home.

Day 3

The most painful run

It took me longer than the other two days to finish my 10k today. Boy oh boy it was hot 37 degree c and 42% humidity. I was sweating a lot, my running shirt and pant got stuck to my skin, i almost felt like i was running wearing sequin leotard, no room for privacy there.

After the 4th kilometer i was feeling pain originating from all sorts of my body, as the lap increase, obviously the pain increased and i noticed getting angry at everything that was happening, and everyone either running or working there as if someone forced me to do this. At one point i caught my self getting angry at crying kid in his trolly, it’s like he’s messing with my focus to ignore my pain.

Overall it’s was the most painful and lengthy 10k run i’ve ever done. But i’m happy i finished it and i must say there’s pure joy that comes out of self inflicted pain like the one i experienced tonight and i kinda like that.

After my run, had salad and of course a beer and head home to write this and call it a day.

Daniel Wolela
·
16 min
·
14 cards

Read “The 30 Days Running Challenge” on a larger screen, or in the Medium app!

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store