Moments from Canada

Turquoise. Wild. Summer.

‘Arh-woooooo…’ I howl, echoing a call from deep within the forest on the other side of Maligne Lake. In return, a chorus of ‘Arh-…Arh-wooOO…’ shatters any possibility of the signal being human. It’s a pack of wolves, calling to each other as the light begins to fade under the waxing gibbous moon above Jasper National Park.

I’m certain I’m safe in the middle of the lake, but I pick up the wooden paddle and continue my return to the launch point. Wolves can’t possibly swim this far out, right? The rhythm of the paddle on the lake calms my nerves, and I spend the next 2 hours reminding myself not to underestimate the forces of nature that rule the Canadian wilderness. Earlier in the evening, I bought a wolf-pattern blanket when I rented the canoe. Maybe that’s working in my favor now.

Siya M
·
3 min
·
15 cards