Maps Into The Mountains

1.

I’ve decided to set out on a journey through the forest, into the mountains. Why have I suddenly decided to leave everything behind? I am trying to use this expedition to help me understand a few very important things. I’m hoping that it will help me find answers to some heavy questions in my life. Who am I? Why am I here? What do I do?

I am so scared of getting asked these questions because I don’t have the slightest idea as to how I can answer them. I secretly write poetry. I work in a farm of a cousin that I’d like to appreciate more but it’s getting harder and harder for me to do so. I have started learning how to paint but, like poetry, I’m not really pursuing this art properly either.

My parents have accumulated some money by working all their lives and they want me to use it to start trading local goods to neighboring lands like their relatively affluent friends do. I’m sure many others in my position would be very glad to hear about this prospect and would jump to this opportunity in a heartbeat. But I know how hard my parents worked to gather this amount. Someone like me that has no experience of life and has no confidence in his abilities might lose it all. Then what? I do not want the fruits of their whole life’s work going down the drain, especially if I’ll be the one that makes it happen.

What else can I write about myself here? I haven’t had any kind of fun for a very long time now. The fact of the matter is that I am not happy. I want to change that fact in this journey somehow. I don’t know how I’ll do it but now I have taken this leap of faith and I will carry on until I am able to get the answers I’m looking for.

I’ll try to document my search and findings here as well as I can. I hope that, sometime in the near future, I’ll be writing some concrete answers here that’ll anchor my life to worthwhile meaning.

2.

Four days into the journey, the boy could see the approaching mountain range. His heart leaped in excitement and anxiety. After a few more hours of walking, he reached the foot of the closest mountain at the edge of the forest, and sat down near a stream. He decided to rest there and continue the next day. As he was gazing at the stars above, lying near a tree, he began to doze off.

The sun woke him up the next day. He kept lying down, observing the moving clouds. It was fascinating how the clouds would block the sun for brief moments of coolness and then pass on, revealing it in all its glory again. It felt like the world kept alternating between two colors.

He heard humming sounds from inside the forest. Upon paying more attention, he realized that someone was singing. He got up and decided to check it out. Maybe someone could advise him about the best path to take for entering the mountains. He followed the sound and found an old man sitting under a tree. The man paused for a second to look at the boy, then closed his eyes again and continued singing. The song sounded very strange and the boy did not understand any of the lyrics but it felt like it fit well in the atmosphere surrounding them. He sat down a few feet away from him and waited for him to be done. The tree that the man rested his back against had a much thicker trunk than the ones around it. The area of the trunk where his back touched was slightly curved in as if it was a seat made just for him.

After what felt like an eternity but were in reality only a few minutes, the man stopped singing. He opened his eyes and started looking at the boy, as if waiting for him to speak.

“I’m sorry to disturb you. I want to enter the mountain range and travel towards the highest point reachable in a few days. Can you point me towards the best route I can take?”

“Apology accepted child.” The boy waited for him to finish his answer but he didn’t say anything after that.

“Do you know which path I should take for entering the mountains?

“Yes, I do.”

“Can you please tell me?”

“Why do you want to go into the mountains?” It was such a simple question but it felt extremely personal to the boy. He decided to lie.

“I’m going into the mountains to pray.”

“Don’t lie, child. Lies will make your present burdens even heavier.”

“I’m just searching for some alone time, sir. If you do not wish to tell me, I’ll do what I can on my own.” He got up to leave.

“You’re not ready to go into the mountains yet. Whatever problem you have right now, you should solve it on flat land. There will be a time when you will be ready for such a journey but now is not that time.” The boy was confused. How could the man possibly know what he was going through?

“With all due respect, mister, I think I will decide that on my own.” As he was starting to walk away he stopped to when the man made him an offer.

“Let’s make a deal. Tell me your problem and let’s talk about it. If after an hour, you still feel like climbing mountains, I’ll tell you the best routes. I’ll even help you draw out maps that will save you many days in your trip.” The boy could not refuse this offer and he sat down again.

He explained his problems to the man and told him how he thought the journey ahead would help him. The man listened to him with a level of undivided attention that confused the boy. Why did he care? He stroked his beard throughout the explanation and changed his facial expressions with each high and low in the story. The old man was a good listener.

“So, there you have it. If I can sum it all up, I need to know the answers to three questions: Who am I? Why am I here? What do I do?”

“Those are indeed heavy questions.” The man was stroking his beard so hard that the boy wondered why it hadn’t completely fallen off yet. “You want my opinion?”

It had only been half an hour so the boy thought he had no choice but to comply.

“Those are heavy questions but they are very connected to each other. You can’t get an answer to all of them at once. Choose one and it will help you answer the others.”

“Okay, noted.”

“Noted? Choose one now, boy.”

“Now?”

“Yes, now.”

“I guess it’s important to know what I do first.”

“Good choice! You aren’t as dum as you look.”

“Excuse me?”

“Your actions define you. You are what you do and you’re nothing if you don’t do anything. Are you nothing, boy?”

“No, ofcourse not. But sometimes I feel like I am almost nothing.”

“So, you felt your first proper existential dread and you decided to run away from everything? Listen to me carefully. If you’re not happy where you are, you won’t be happy when you go someplace else. You can take an unhappy body anywhere and it will still be unhappy.”

This depressed the boy. His whole body language changed. He went from looking like a curious youth to a defeated adult. It was as if a veil over his eyes was lifted and he could finally see what was in front of him all along. He didn’t like it.

“You were going to write in your journey. Pull your page and pen out and write what you have to do.”

“That is what I wanted to know. That is what I had set out to find. What do I write?” The boy finally looked up again.

“Write anything. Write whatever you can think of that you should do. Write things you have to do that are good for you and not those that will bring you harm. Especially write those things that you are putting off.”

The boy reluctantly put his pen on the paper and wrote ‘Be a good person’.

“No, not like that. Be more specific. What will you do that will make you a good person.”

“I could help the poor.”

“That is also too broad. But let’s humor it. How will you help the poor?”

“I know there are many ways to do that but I guess it’ll be so much better if I had my own resources and did not instead depend on someone else taking care of me.”

“That is a wise thing to say. So what is the first thing you can do to be independent and with resources?”

“I could ask my cousin to compensate what I do for the farm.”

“What are you going to ask him?”

“I am going to ask him to pay me appropriately for the services I render.”

The old man paused and pondered after hearing that, looking like he still wasn’t satisfied but said, “Okay, write that down. Cross out ‘be a good person’.”

The boy wrote down other things as well. Things related to his family, his health, his friendships and his art. He had a long list of things he had to do but each task felt so menial.

“I know you’re still skeptical but do try your best to complete these tasks. I guarantee that before you’re done with all of them, you’ll be able to write down what you really want.”

“What about finding out who I am?”

“Your wants will lead you to the answer to that, don’t worry.”

“Do you know who you are?”

“I’m a mystic. I am someone who believes in the possibility of attaining insight into mysteries transcending ordinary human knowledge.”

“How does one become a mystic?” The boy didn’t really understand what he said.

“One becomes a mystic when he is called a mystic. Never underestimate the power of a fact stated out loud.”

“So you’re a mystic because someone called you a mystic? Was that what you wanted?”

“In a way, yes. But the stated fact that has the most effect on a person is the one stated by him to himself. I said I was a mystic before anyone else said it. In time, the power of what I said made others do the same.”

The boy was trying very hard to digest everything the mystic had told him but his previously empty vessel was now overflowing. He had to pour some of it out into the world and he was coming to the realization that the mountains were not the right place to do so.

“It’s been over an hour now. You still want me to help you find the routes?” The mystic interrupted his thoughts.

“No, I can’t go yet. I have to do a few things first. I’ll come back for them once I’m done.”

“Sure, no problem. Yo can find me later when you decide it’s time. I’ll be here.”

The boy shook the mystic’s hand in respect and walked back to his village in a much quicker pace than when he left it. He hadn’t really found the answers to his questions but he felt like he knew how to answer them now. He couldn’t wait.

3.

I’ve decided to set out to a journey into the mountains again. This time, it is to find answers to different questions. Life has been so different since I came back from the forest almost a year ago. Just as the mystic told me, I was able to find out what I wanted before I was done with the things I listed down with him.

I quit working at the farm as it was not helping me in any way. I now wonder why I started working there in the first place. I had to replace it with some other work. I decided to take just a small portion of my parents’ money, buy some things that I thought would sell in a close by city and try my luck with trading. I realized in the beginning that it felt better than expected and later realized how hard it was to work nonstop for days. The trip wasn’t very profitable and I didn’t really earn much but I was relieved that I didn’t lose any money. I came back home slightly defeated but much wiser about trade.

During my traveling, I developed a strong passion for writing. I wrote poetry and short stories whenever I got time. I filled my diary up with short songs and fictional characters that gave me more satisfaction than anything else in the world.

When I came back home, things started to get clearer for me. Even though I wasn’t very good at it yet, I liked trading much better than working at the farm. It was a lot more tiresome but it had the potential of making me so much happier. I also realized that my love for writing could not be ignored. I had tried painting, singing and dancing as well but writing is the art form that speaks the loudest to me.

The mystic was right. Knowing what I want did help me find who I was and what I wanted to do. I wanted to be a successful merchant and a great writer. At first, saying that out loud made me so nervous. They were such grand claims. But then I remembered something else the mystic said. One becomes something when he is called that something. Never underestimate the power of a fact stated out loud. The stated fact that has the most effect on a person is the one stated by him to himself. Every day I woke up, I would remind myself that I was going to become a successful merchant and a great writer. I repeated it again just before I was about to fall asleep at night. It became sort of a daily payer and like any prayer, it began to shape my life according to it.

With time I became more and more comfortable with stating this out loud to other people as well. The questions that I used to dread weren’t as scary anymore. In what felt like no time at all, I started seeing opportunities everywhere around me. It was the best feeling in the world. I kept writing down and refining what I wanted to do and took so many leaps of faith that I am proud of.

After many months of doing this, however, I realized that I hadn’t really achieved anything substantial at all. I went on a few more trading trips. I appreciate the experience I gained from them but I hardly had any worthwhile profits to show for them. I started many good writing projects as well but found it very hard to finish any of them. I feel like I am stuck at my last upgrade. The last month has been quite painful as I have constantly been trying to understand what I am doing wrong.

I learnt something quite profound in my trading trips. One can truly understand where he lives when he leaves it and looks at it from outside. I’ve learnt so much more about my town after visiting places outside it and hearing outsider perspectives on my birthplace. This time my journey to the mountains is not as senseless as it was the last time. I need to leave the life I have chosen to live and look at it from outside for a while.

Rayyan
·
15 min
·
6 cards