Fulbright Life: Mariam E.’s Story

August 2017

Mariam, a new Fulbright, recently arrived in the United States to start her masters at University of Wisconsin- Madison.

“I was lucky enough to be hosted by this wonderful American family, George and Donna Beestman, who are volunteers with Madison Friends of International students! They provided me a temporary house, helped me lease a studio, find furnishings and get settled before my classes at UW start. Such initiatives are very important in building mutual cultural understanding. By hosting international students they believe ; “The world comes to them”!

September 2017

“One of the things I’ve noticed is how much football plays a huge role in American culture. It actually gives an identity to the city with the team mascot, the chants and the team colors. When football season started, Madison was all red, and people were tailgating all over the city. The atmosphere became very energetic and vibrant. Our mascot at Wisconsin is called Bucky Badger, and here I am posing with him. I’m all ready for football season!”

October 2017

“Earlier this month, I decided to change the route I take to go home from campus. I tried the lake path next to Lake Mendota in Madison, and I was amazed! The beauty was so surreal, it looked like a painting. One of the best things about studying in the United States is having such beautiful nature around. It’s so relaxing. I’m blessed.”

FulbrightMENA
·
11 min
·
25 cards

Read “Fulbright Life: Mariam E.’s Story” on a larger screen, or in the Medium app!

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store