Getting there

It’s been two days in Udaipur. Day one, I was like “Oh my gosh, where am I?” Day two, I’m like “Oh my gosh I’m in India!”

Traveling solo plus being in a completely new culture for the first time is mind blowing. At first I wasn’t quite sure how I would function if I left my room. I know I know, how silly! I’d function as normal, right?! This isn’t mars for fuck sake. So I put my pants on and wrapped a scarf around me to prepare for a very hot walk around a very new place.

First off, wow. Watch out to not get run over, oh yeah they drive backwards, yes that’s a cow in your way, and no I don’t want to get into your tuk tuk or get a message. But yes, I will buy that anklet and yes I’ll probably buy those pants, because mine are too damn hot and now super smelly.

My first night was mellow. I didn’t make it very far. I was still out by and tired, but it was way too early to sleep, so I went across the lake where I hadn’t been yet. At a restaurant just past the foot bridge was a guy playing a guitar. I didn’t yet feel comfortable to approach someone so I lit a cigarette to smoke along the lake (creepily near guitar man). But then I heard what was clearly an American speak, so I walked up to the guitar man and American to see if I could join them.

Well obviously they said “sure!” Since then the American dude has been my buddy and sort of tour guide. He’s been all around India and knows Udaipur pretty well. I know I’m supposed to be super solo power woman, but having a friend has helped me settle in easier.

My second day was spent with the animals at Animal Aid Unlimited. I thought I’d spend just a couple days in Udaipur volunteering but I think I may stay all 14 days. Between the rescue and this city, I’m pretty happy. I’d like to soak up life here and then come back to India another time to venture further.

After a full day of animals, a crazy first tuk tuk ride back to the city and topping the evening off with a beer, I spent the rest of the night getting to know some people at my hostel on the rooftop common area.

I met two couples who recently quit their jobs to travel for a year. Something I didn’t expect to feel as response to their travel stories was the missing of my husband. I have been missing him already, but what this brought up was different.

Solo traveling is truly truly amazing and something everyone should do! No ifs, ands or buts about it. Please go do this if you haven’t already! Single or taken, just go!!

Ok, but what I’m getting at is that I miss my husband even more now. I was reminded of how important and beautiful building adventurous memories together are.

My time spent traveling alone allows me to take in experiences on my own terms. I’m the only one responsible for what I’m seeing and how I’m seeing it. Who you are in these places is completely up to you. I make friends, but I’m not obligated to them. Or I find places I love, but it’s ok to leave whenever I want. Whatever you’re feeling, whatever you want, or think, see, do … The path that’s ahead of you is all yours. Diverge, stay on course, bounce, swim, fly, whatever.

Ok, that was enough wishy washy talk. Though all very true. I just wanted to make the point that solo traveling is a perfect soul quenching thing to do, but, I cannot wait for some future adventures with my love.

Everything in balance is my motto. My love of travel isn’t meant to just be spent on the road alone. As much as I enjoy the hell out of it, it’s also my love to be with my man in far off places to have amazing experiences together.

Christy Lee Zilka
·
3 min
·
2 cards

Read “Getting there” on a larger screen, or in the Medium app!

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store