A Year in the Fulbright Life: Razan’s Story

For the next year, Fulbright MENA will be showcasing a handful of students as they study in the United States with their new series, A Year in the Fulbright Life. Each month, spotlighted students will share an update as they continue on their Fulbright journey.

July 2019

Farewells can get emotional, but my motivation is that I’m departing my home country to make my family and friends even prouder while developing myself.

My Fulbright journey in Washington, D.C. has been thrilling so far, from running errands and settling in, to making new friends in D.C. as I began orientation at Johns Hopkins University School of Advanced International Studies. I’m proud to be the only Arab and Middle Eastern person in my class, which makes conversations very interesting according to my classmates! We started having an Arabic word of the day because everyone is interested in our language. My independence, open-mindedness, and receptive modes are on and I can’t wait for new chapters of my journey to unfold!

August 2019

August has indeed been such a fruitful vibrant month both academically and socially. I celebrated my 22nd Birthday with my American and International friends on a sunset party cruise. I also chose to have lunch with them at a Lebanese restaurant which was an impressive experience for them! After achieving 3 A’s on my summer courses, I went with my friends to New York City for the Labor Day holiday. We visited almost every place in Manhattan and Brooklyn. It was an unforgettable adventurous experience!

Celebrated my B-day with my friends, where we lunched at a Lebanese restaurant and had a sunset cruise party.

Done with my first semester with 3 A’s on my courses.

Went to New York for the Labor Day holiday and to celebrate the end of semester with my friends.

Meeting with another Lebanese Fulbrighter who studies in New York.

FulbrightMENA
·
9 min
·
12 cards

Read “A Year in the Fulbright Life: Razan’s Story” on a larger screen, or in the Medium app!

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store