30 days of yoga

day 1 / aug 31 2019

i’ve been meaning to try yoga for the longest time. i even got a yoga mat for my birthday earlier this year. that’s 5 months ago!

today i finally looked up yoga videos on youtube. i came across this 30-day yoga series with adriene and i tried watching day 1. it was awesome and i decided to try following through her videos for 30 days.

i originally wanted to start tomorrow but after watching the 1st video, i got too excited and thought, what the hell, i wanna do it tonight!

and so i brought out my yoga mat for the first time in 5 months, borrowed my brother’s ipad and did yoga for the very first time!

honestly, i couldn’t focus well because i kept worrying my brother or my parents would see me doing weird poses. so i kept glancing back and forth at the door, etc etc.

overall, it was a great experience! it was a great introduction to yoga for me. it was chill and i love how adriene encourages the audience to improvise and do what feels good.

i got to stretch and move parts of my body that i don’t usually stretch or move and i feel good.

i could say that as of now, i prefer yoga over an intense workout. i get to practice being present and giving more focus into every part of my body and every movement, even my breath, with this. i feel that i really get to move all parts of my body, which i believe i really need, with the kind of lifestyle that i currently have (slouched into the chair the entire day).

anyway, i’d definitely push further on the next session.

great start, though!

excited!

day 2 / sep 1 2019

just finished day 2!

that felt shorter. because the poses changed much quicker compared to yesterday’s, i guess? the poses are more challenging today as well.

a lot of pressure on the wrists. mine hurt after a couple of minutes i did not push myself too much for safety.

i’m starting to learn the importance of breath in yoga though. i think? yesterday i was just so focused on doing the moves/poses and stretching my body but tonight i could say i was more present specifically in my breathing.

honestly i am a bit disappointed with today’s session. not with the video, it’s awesome. but with myself. i need to loosen up more and be confident in what i’m doing.

i keep worrying my family would see me doing these weird poses and i fear that they’d judge me. i need to let go of that. it’s like boxing me.

one thing i’m proud of though is the fact that my brother saw me and i just went on and continued what i was doing. well, i was disoriented for a bit but went back to the pose/movement and didn’t care when he walked past the door once more.

my back aches, my shoulders too. really got to stretch those muscles.

also, i sweat a bit today. i didn’t yesterday. so yup, difficulty level is definitely going up!

yoga is not easy at all. it’s like another form of a workout plus meditation. it’s a good practice of mindfulness.

day 3 / sep 2 2019

don’t give up now. honestly didn’t enjoy much today. again, not because of the video but because i couldn’t focus and concentrate. i gotta keep going though until i develop full confidence in myself and in what i’m doing.

i will try again tomorrow. i will finish this challenge no matter what.

i realize how much i enjoy stretching.

yoga is really more about breathing. at least that’s what i think right now.

how do i do this freely? how can i move freely? how do i let myself move freely?

i worry too much about the external factors aka what people would think when they see me doing what i’m doing. there is no shame in yoga. i’m just not used to being seen by my family doing this sort of thing.

i should get used to it. i will try again tomorrow. i will do my best to focus and concentrate more.

yesterday the main points (for me) were the wrists. when i say main point, i mean what i used the most or what hurt the most lol. it’s really about stretching tight muscles, strengthening the core but i’ll always remember day 2 for the pressure my wrists went through that day haha. today it’s more about balance. i was surprised how i didn’t stumble/fall/lose my balance while moving. quite amazing how certain parts of the body placed in certain positions help you maintain your balance even while you move.

after the session i practice some movements that i liked.

i noticed how calming the child’s pose is. especially after doing something strenuous.

i’m slowly getting used to the transitions from one position to another. progress.

it’s only the third day. be gentle with yourself, self.

just keep doing it.

do not decide where it ends.

munimuli
·
3 min
·
4 cards

Read “30 days of yoga” on a larger screen, or in the Medium app!

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store