What I’m learning by walking, observing, and making

January 2017. I was completely losing the plot, despite everything seeming to be going my way with a growing business, interesting work, and a full and happy house of a loving family. I was full of anxiety, doubt, and my confidence in myself had really gone downhill.

It was the start of the year I had dubbed “The Year of Janna”. My intention at the time was that I would start taking back time for myself to do activities that I loved (or would grow to love). It was about doing things that I wanted, for myself, rather than for anyone else. At its simplest, giving myself some space to just be.

Sounded great! So why was I losing it rather than rejoicing in my new-found focus?

I was lost, sitting in suffering of my own making, out of touch with my feelings, and I could no longer ignore it. Lack of a hobby was far from being my problem. The Year of Janna necessarily took on a whole new meaning.

Do the best you can until you know better. Then when you know better, do better.

Maya Angelou

I had an entire story in my head that had painted me into a victim of and responder to circumstance rather than a maker of my own future.

When people would ask me how I was, I would intellectually describe it as this:

I am busy. I am on the caboose of a train, holding on for dear life, body flailing in the wind as the train barrels down the track.

Janna DeVylder
··
31 cards

Read “What I’m learning by walking, observing, and making” on a larger screen, or in the Medium app!

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store