Bootcamp is over! Time to JOB HUNT.

Day 1, Monday + weekend

While studying at General Assembly I did a daily standup on Twitter. I have now finished with the course and it’s Day1 of my Dev job hunting so it makes sense that I move the daily stand up to Linkedin.

Day 1💪Wins

1-Survived GA Bootcamp and this is Day 1 of job hunting
2-Updated my LinkedIn over the weekend
3-Went to Silicon Milkroundabout. It was interesting to see some trends across many tech companies. For example:
- React and JS rule front end. MERN stack is the main stack (Woop it’s my stack!)
- Python means Data Science
- Backend is Java or one of the C languages
- Full Stack no longer seems a thing, most teams seem to be split back and front
- The smaller/newer the startup the more senior developers they are looking for. The bigger/older the company the more enthusiastic they are about juniors
Next year I would love to see signs saying ‘We hire Bootcamp grads’ outside booths. So people do not waste each others time.

Losses 💔

No coding over the weekend, so Monday morning started with adding secure routes to my current project.

Goals🎯

Need to get my CV sorted this week.

Asks🙏

Who is looking for a Junior Front End developer? I need all the job leads!

Day 2, Tuesday

Wins💪

1-A surprising number of follow up emails after the Silicon MilkRoundabout. Being a developer is different from other jobs.

2-Going to a pizza night at a company I met at the Silicon MilkRoundabout. Their stand had a velociraptor and nerf guns so the cultural fit is there. No expectations, just excited to meet their team and chat with developers about how they broke into an industry.

3-Coded into the night yesterday, I miss the Bootcamp schedule of coding from morning till night.

Losses 💔 and Goals🎯

Figuring out my time table will be harder than I expected. My current non-coding do list is:

I need to figure out a schedule because juggling this to-do list with coding can get tricky especially as time warps when coding.

Asks🙏

Does anyone know good Tech Interview resources? Or want to share their company interview questions with me?😁

Day 3, Wednesday

Yesterday after coming home from an awesome pizza evening I started thinking about this whole job-hunting business. I have yet to meet a human being who enjoys job hunting (if you do tell me your secrets) and I am no exception. Which is weird because job hunting is one of the few times in a grown-ups life when we get to meet strangers with whom we are likely to have something in common because we want to work for a company they work for, surely this is kind of awesome?

So in my head, I am rebranding job-hunting into — ‘getting to meet cool people in the tech industry and sometimes getting to pair code with them’.

So with this in mind, I am changing over my morning stand up. The new format is Stuff learnt, Stuff done/coded, Stuff to be done, Asks (I am keeping the asks but they can no longer be asks for jobs)

Stuff learnt

1 — I met a startup that has the best post job fair process. At the fair, they invite candidates for pizza at the office (use whatever criteria work for your team) in a few days. You get to see how candidates interact with each other and your team gets to meet them. The candidates get to experience the office (a place where they will on some weeks spend more time than at home) and see how your team interact with each other.

If you are hiring this is the idea to steal. It’s more fun than follow up emails.

2 — Apparently, Monday and Friday are the worst days to send out job applications. (I have a feeling my week will be divided into code days Fri/Sat/Sun/Mon and no code days of Tue/Wed/Thu)

3 — Found the best podcast about Tech Interviews, it managed to kill off most of my anxiety. https://overcast.fm/+HJBzgh-LU

Stuff done/coded

Asks

Does anyone use Grammarly premium is it worth the money? (I am on their freemium version now)

Jenny Judova
·
17 min
·
33 cards

Read “Bootcamp is over! Time to JOB HUNT.” on a larger screen, or in the Medium app!

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store