Bryant Park

I’ve been this way since I turned eighteen years old. I’m still stuck in the same daydream. It takes place in the same park. Music resonates from the same instruments. Leaves from trees naturally fall in the same spot. Sometimes snowflakes would fall and dance in perfect synchronization, thudding against the grounds. Fall and winter are frozen in transition. Shuffling men and women smile as they crossed the same streets between respectively 5th and 6th avenue. Traffic is the same in and out of the daydream. Red light, green light- like some kid’s game that had never been rethought.

I’d like to personally invite you to the Rockefeller Brothers’ revolutionary project. Once a temporary endeavor, then a projected one-hit wonder, and now formally recognized as-

BANG! BANG! BANG!

I quickly snap out of the daydream and cover my ears as I navigate to the corner of the park. I recover and spot two street performers violently smashing two steel trash can lids.

I learned elastic collisions create rhythm.

I really don’t like loud noises. Or particle physics. Wait. Maybe I do.

BANG! BANG!

“Seen in Bryant Park” — Brandon Stanton

The sign read “Welcome to Bryant Park”. I read “Welcome home!”.

Nathalie Leon
·
1 min
·
2 cards
A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store