Crossing Europe with my two teenage kids

I had a goal to travel through Europe by train with my two teenage kids. I managed to do it. Here is what happened.

Spoiler allert. We did it.

If you do not know what interail is, google it first and then get back here. I can summarize it by saying that its the most amazing and fulfilling way of travelling with your kids. Period.

A little bit about ourselves so that I can introduce the main characters of this story.

My name is Frederico and I have two kids from a previous marriage. Francisco and Alexandre. We are Portuguese.

Francisco’s age is easy to guess — he was the millennium baby in Portugal. Yes, he was born at 00:00 on New Year ’s Eve 2000. Alexandre is 18 months younger.

Before they get to the point that they can throw me in trash and visit once a year, I told myself that I had to do this. I had to pick them up and do something as crazy as seeing as many countries in 15 days as I could.

I went to interrail.eu website and checked the prices. It was not that expensive and I had a few euros on the side. I went for it. I booked three Global Passes (all you can see in 15 days straight).

Lisbon to Madrid (10h)
This is Alexandre. My younger kid.
Frederico Carvalho
·
3 min
·
8 cards

Read “Crossing Europe with my two teenage kids” on a larger screen, or in the Medium app!

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store