A Year in the Fulbright Life: Michael’s Story

For the next year, Fulbright MENA will be showcasing a handful of students as they study in the United States with their new series, A Year in the Fulbright Life. Each month, spotlighted students will share an update as they continue on their Fulbright journey.

August 2018

My friends and I met the very last day before I left for the United States to say goodbye. We had a lot of fun, but it was never easy for me. Later, I figured out that the adventure was worth leaving my comfort zone and my old life!

At , I had my real introduction to U.S. culture. We had a lot of speakers come in and talk to us about the educational and cultural system in the United States.

Not only did we attend lectures by different speakers, but we got to see American culture first hand. In the Gateway Program, we were taken on a bus tour and stopped in different interesting parts of the city where we saw street art and even went to the .

When I got to the , I attended the international student orientation. We got to know university resources for graduate students, how they care for students’ health and wellbeing, and how they focus on building a person not just in the classroom but in all the university’s departments and areas.

One of the best experiences was kayaking in , this culturally significant city that still holds the authentic Texan spirit. I did not only go kayaking there but I went to the where I watched and , and ate , the best I ever tasted in my life.

September 2018

Being an international student at UT (University of Texas) is definitely a privilege. The UT Friendship Program aims at matching international students with local families; it is one of the best experiences I’ve had so far. Through it, I met Bob and Diana, an awesome couple and we got to see a nice part of the city of Austin and eat nice food.

Another event that I was invited to by Bob and Diana, my friendship partners, was a cooking competition night. At their place, I got to network with people and try food from all around the world. Although I did not win in this competition, I was so happy for the experience.

Austin is so fun and friendly! I no longer wonder why Austin is the best place to live in America according to . I have meet many people who show “southern hospitality” and love to help out new people in all life aspects.

Another nice social event I attended was “Discover America” hosted by Chi-Alpha Christian ministry. Every Saturday in September, we went to a different host family, ate local food and had a chat about different countries in the world. I got to know fun facts about the world like how people greet each other in different cultures. It was definitely a great experience.

Studying in the United States is a completely different experience. The campus is not just a set of classrooms and faculty member’s offices, but it is a huge resource for leaning and growing in every aspect of your life. In the United States, unlimited campus resources such as libraries, learning centers, recreational sports centers, clubs, information centers, and health services try to facilitate a healthy balanced life.

FulbrightMENA
·
9 min
·
14 cards

Read “A Year in the Fulbright Life: Michael’s Story” on a larger screen, or in the Medium app!

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store