I’m trying to read philosophy. It’s hard. And fun. And slow.

I started with Rorty. I’ve always liked what I was able to understand. He’s post-modern, but earnest and humanist. I think! I’d tried to read him in college but hadn’t been able to get too far.

So far it’s been good!

I loved this description of philosophy as language war:

Interesting philosophy is rarely an examination of the pros and cons of a thesis. Usually it is, implicitly or explicitly, a contest between an entrenched vocabulary which has become a nuisance and a half-formed new vocabulary which vaguely promises great things.

Read “I’m trying to read philosophy. It’s hard. And fun. And slow.” on a larger screen, or in the Medium app!

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store