NonConformity — A Short Story Anthology

Pictures In the Park

The building in which I live is not my home. I should feel safe at home; I should be happy in my home. The only evidence that someone could possibly be living inside of this dump is the bin bags that build up outside. Occasionally I will place a filled bag outside the door. I decided that if I piled them outside then no one would think to come looking for me and assume it is an uninhabitable dump. When the pile gets too high, I’ll take one away and go put it in the large bin that is used for the park outside. The park is the only reason I put up with this kind of living.

Underneath the shade of an old oak tree lies my shack, a small wooden house that everyone knows is empty. At least they believe it’s empty but as per usual, the general people don’t tend to look below the surface. I used to own an apartment, shared a bed with Lauren and a life with the woman I loved, love. Waking up in the morning to the smell of bacon and eggs, finding Lauren in nothing but one of my baggy tees with her back to me slaving over the hob. I would wrap my hands around her slim waist, my face would rest on her long blonde hair, her head would curl back into my shoulder. I can remember the taste of her fresh lips, then the pull of her hand leading me back into the bedroom. It happened every day, the breakfast, and then sex afterwards. She was so passionate and exciting! Until she left. I awoke, no breakfast, no sex, no Lauren. She had left. The only sign of her existence in my life was a small note left on her pillow.

I’m moving on, it was nice.

Now I live inside of this shack, tormented by the memory of her, every piece of furniture she had picked out. It was as much her house as it was mine, she infested her presence inside my nest like a worm inside an apple. It was tainted and so I had to escape it. She must have had someone else to go to though, the nest became too sour and so she wriggled her way into a new apple somewhere. Perhaps his name is Rodger, an accountant. He has worked for Marshall Incorporated for nine years now, won employee of the month last year; He got a bonus which he will spend on buying Lauren that red and black bralette that she wanted from Victoria’s Secret. He would come home after a long day at work and she would be laid across the sofa in her new underwear. She would thrust herself at him and his large hands will embrace her gentle skin. But he will be tired from work, head to the bedroom and fall asleep before anything further. I hope.

A reflection off a bike in the park blinds me in the eye and I return to my shack. Spending all day just watching out of the hole in the wall I call a window. Waiting to see him. My new love. I call him Billy, I don’t actually know his name but I love him dearly, you would understand if you saw him. The most beautiful little boy in the world. I realised that I don’t need Lauren or another woman in my life. This little boy was all I needed. He is sweet and kind and loyal, he will never leave me, he will never argue back and he will stay cute forever. I imagine.

The path through the park is a light-coloured gravel path, a few large stones are scattered along the walkway but they are a minority, tree’s line the path and beyond that is open grass, often occupied with family picnics or dogs playing with their owners. Walking along the path under the canopy of leaves above, shielding him from the bright sunlight on this beautiful day. I can see Billy walking past. My window is situated perfectly so that I have a clear view over the park. My camera needs the clear view. I made the camera myself, a wide lens camera with a motion detector, tracking passers-by and photographing them. I don’t like to watch the camera go off in its usual five minute intervals, I feel odd taking photos of people. I tend to walk through the park during the day as much as I can, clear my head, giving me something to do. Then once I have returned I can check the basket for all the polaroid images. Shuffle through them and select my favourites, which then go into one of my scrap books. Each page a new day. As for the bad photographs, often gone blurry, I just throw them away. I end up throwing a lot of the photographs away, as I’m only interested in the photographs of one person. Billy always comes to the park. Everyday.

Like I said, Billy isn’t his actual name, Billy is the name I have given him as I doesn’t know his real name. He is a small boy, sweet face. Much smaller than I was at his age. He often sits in the park on a small blanket with his mother. Occasionally, Billy’s Mother makes it into the photographs, but he just looks so sweet and cute that I can’t bring myself to throw the pictures of the two of them away, so I just scratch out her face from the image. Although, if I’m feeling creative, I sometimes stick an image of my face on top of her now scratched out face. It reminds me that I should be the one sitting there on the blanket with him. Not her. I don’t have a lot of room to keep the scrap books and so I like to keep the most recent book next to my sleeping area. It’s not really a bed, more of a blanket on the floor. This way I can wake up in the morning and be greeted by his little face.

When I was with Lauren we often spoke about having children of our own and I loved the idea dearly. A home where we were all together and safe, smaller versions of us running around making a mess for us to moan about, and bond over. Once she left me, I knew I would never have any children. Then I saw Billy. I don’t mind that she left me anymore, I just want to know why she took my son with her.

Suspicious Memories

Joe and his boyfriend were just the usual couple and so just like every other couple they had their fallouts. Their most recent though caused a great amount of difficulty in the relationship. “You told me you were just friends!” Joe called out above the usual dull drone of the television in the background. “huh…” grunted back the distracted boyfriend. It wasn’t that he wasn’t interested in the anger that Joe was clearly portraying, it was merely that he hadn’t noticed it yet; Candy crush can require some serious attention. “This Mark guy, who is he?” Joe said, this time with more attitude to before. Joe was one of these people in life where they will not argue with someone if it wasted their time. Instead they would much rather embarrass their opponent and force them to surrender; Joe was dominant like that. “Well?” Joe asked, this being his last question, for should his boyfriend not reply this time then his attempt to sort things out were just going to be wasted. Noticing a shift in tone, he flung his attention away from candy crush and faced Joe. “Mark is a friend from me Gym, he probably wants to know when I’m next out and about alright.” He replied. However, it wasn’t quite a satisfactory reply for Joe, see Joe likes to be told straight; A yes or no answer. So, saying he probably wants doesn’t help Joe at all, Joe wants to know what he wants. Not what he probably wants.

Paddy was from Ireland, born and bred. His mother Irene was the landlady at their local pub and his father was, well no one knows who he was. Not that Irene slept about a lot but she certainly wasn’t shy; although she calmed it down once Paddy was born. This didn’t stop some of her usual customers still trying it on with her, “Feck off ya bum. I’m a mudder now, I don’t do that sort of ting anymare.” She would warn them. Despite this, she was a great mother and ended up raising Paddy to be a charming young man; although he was still his mother’s son. Paddy too became rather promiscuous in his early adult years, that was until he met Joe when moving to England. Different to his usual type of guy, Joe was reserved and private. Not like Paddy.

“Paddy look me in the eyes. I will say this very clearly for you. Don’t even bother lying to me because you know that I know you that you that lies and. Look you can’t lie okay! Are you seeing Mark, yes or no?” Now Joe was never one to beg, but it was clear that right now nothing more mattered than knowing the truth and Joe would do anything to find out. “Oh, darlin’.” Paddy replied. That was enough to satisfy Joe. He was right, Paddy had given in to his old ways and was seeing someone else behind his back. “I knew it! You cheating bastard! How could you even dare, what would possess someone…all this time…all this time you…”. Rolling through memories and filling them with the knowledge of Mark in his mind, Joe was realising all the times he had been speaking to him behind his back. “That time at the beach, you were texting him weren’t you! And then the cinema, I told you to turn it off I did I know I did and you were not happy with that oh gee I wonder why that was. oh, how could I have so damn stupid…” Joe’s voice trailed off as he continued to recall countless times when Paddy may have been cheating. “Joe darlin’ you got it all wrong so you have. I’m not dating Mark.” Paddy said with a slight giggle. This time, giving Joe a definitive answer. The tables were turning. “Mark is a jeweller, he. He was arranging, well he was helping me out. Just being a mate really and I uh” Paddy stuttered, his hand clawing the inside of his pocket like a cat to a post. He found it. “Well he was helping me with getting well this,” kneeling, Paddy produced a sparkling ring full of diamonds and held it up towards Joe. “Joe darlin’. I want to marry you. So y’know will you?”. Now, it was Joes turn to give a yes or no answer.

RyTheories
·
11 min
·
4 cards

Read “NonConformity — A Short Story Anthology” on a larger screen, or in the Medium app!

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store