Songs of Hope and Sorrow

Another Day

Do you seek a sun

to brighten a new day?

Do you fear the shadows

that lie along the way?

Do you sit in darkness

afraid to carry on?

Do you think the sunlight

will never come along?

Listen to your heartbeat

it whispers all around

Can you hear it speaking?

It’s such a subtle sound

Telling of the things

you thought were lost, now found

Saying, “You’re not broken!

you’ve simply been unbound”

Oh-h-h

Secret scars of which we never speak

And the lies we tell ourselves to keep

In a world too often found without conscience

We fly

We cry

Another day

Are you holding on

so desp’rate to remain?

Are you moving on

despite the growing pain?

Are you full of sorrow

no other could describe?

Are you all alone

no matter how you try?

There’s another song

it’s waiting deep inside

And it won’t be broken

no matter how they try

There’s a power in it

that can’t be hid by lies

Beating out the rhythm

that the whole world can’t hide

Oh-h-h

Secret scars that never give us peace

And the lies we struggle to release

In a world that’s saying we are not enough

We fly

We’ll cry

Another day

In one moment

blinks a future

one pill

one vial

one more suture

Now we’ve lived

and have our answer

rise up

rise higher

fight this cancer

Secret scars will never rule our lives

And these lies aren’t who we are inside

In this world that never seemed to understand

We’ll fly

Don’t cry

Let the song from deep inside resound

Let it tell of all the strength we’ve found

Tell the world that it can’t silence this anthem

we cry

We fly

Another day

Zel’nair

I’m walking down this crumbling road

Again

The world keeps changing

Yet it’s all the same

The fading daylight cannot hide

These scars

One more ‘tomorrow’

Fades to ‘yesterday’

But still I’m marching on

There is a light in the distance

It leads me on, it calls my name

And guides me on my way

And while I long for tomorrow

I want to leave this life, give up this path

And throw it all away

Today

What point in fighting

When you’re all alone?

Each life’s a moment

Then they fade to grey

You’d think by now I’d have

A heart of stone

Yet each new meeting

Makes me long to stay

But still you call me on

There is a wind blowing onwards

It knows my past, it knows my fate

Yet guides me anyway

And when I long, full of sorrow, for home

You lift me up, and push me on

And call me by my name:

Zel’nair

Outcast

You’re standing beyond the boundary

Looking in

And you’re clinging desperately to something you’ve

Never been

There must be something here

You can call your own

But you’re always standing on the outside

All alone

The world comes crashing down

At the break of day

And you’ve tried so hard to tell yourself

That you’ll be okay

Memories slip through your grasp

As you fade from time

But you can’t forget the one thing you could

Never find

Kaze Farel
·
6 min
·
8 cards