Tales From the Crypto-Sea by Rui Dong

Abstract:

About Rui Dong

➊ WHAT I DO
Writing: I write about the industry from the perspective of an investor. My focus is on evergreen rather than what’s hot, fundamentals/technologies rather than price analysis.

Portfolio Management: For my investment strategy, I look for “dividend” generating opportunities within the cryptocurrency space. Using that “dividend/cash flow” I look for promising projects. My focus if to generate a return on bitcoin/ether.

Results: Since end of 2015, we have returned over 368.6% on our BITCOIN holdings. Counting from April 2013, we have returned more than X25 on our initial investments in CAD terms.

➋ MY MOTTO
We are all connected in a way: what we read, see and hear always nudges our lives into a new direction, I hope to nudge yours in a positive way.

➌ MY VISION
August 2017, I went through Mr. Dan Pena’s castle seminar and emerged with the vision of creating one of the best performing cryptocurrency fund to ever do it.

➍ ABOUT ME
Background: I’m someone who likes to go after Big Hairy Audacious Goals. It started with getting a double major in Actuarial Science and Psychology which gave me an edge in evaluating and interacting with numbers and people.

Coding : GA’s immersive Full Stack Web Dev. to shortened my learning curve for coding.

Crypto: While at Western in 2013, my current business partner and I jumped down the cryptocurrency rabbit hole.

Burger Eating Endurance Junkie: Ironman triathlete, all 140.6 miles of the race who loves summer cookouts and can flip burger a party of 100+.

➎ GET IN TOUCH
I’m always open for a quick 20 minutes chat about crypto and the industry. Please get in touch by connecting/sending a note.

Thank you for reading.

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JhRui
15 min intro chat: https://calendly.com/rui-dong/linkedintro

5/15/2018

For the crypto/bitcoin people, Sofia, Bulgaria 1. Decided to visit one of the countries where tech talents are the best in the world. Between Romania, Ukraine and Bulgaria, they have a number of awesome crypto projects. Beginning of this trip also marks my first year full time in Crypto. From waking up 3am in Canada to trade with the Koreans, running money through WU for 50% on Kimchi premium in may 2017, 20x ICOs, conferences, fomo like the best of them and talking to people who are titled Blockchain experts without ever reading Satoshi’s whitepaper, it has been a f**k*** awesome yr. I’ve put 10 things that I’ve learned and important to me, will be releasing them in the next few weeks. 1. Listen to those who have gone through market cycles a few times. I remember one of these conversations where one guy told me the story of his tech start-up during the dot-com bubble. Basically a millionaire on paper, that lost everything when the dot com bubble burts. The next day I cashed out 10%. This market cycle affects everyone. When it goes up, people get crazy. It takes much discipline to say let’s get out of the crazy bus. The crazy bus might keep on going up for a while after stepping out. Like, share and comment! #bitcoin #blockchain #ethereum

4/24/2018

For the crypto/bitcoin people: WTF is CryptoKitties, and how did they receive 12m in funding from some of the biggest names in angel investing? Every person that I mention CryptoKitties to, roll their eyes and have this look of despair and confusion of “what is happening to Satoshi’s dream…?” This reminds me of when Dogecoin came about and everyone had similar reactions. Dogecoin is one of the most used coins right now with market cap over $400m. If you can’t fight them join them… I got founder cats #42. I named it Mol (meaning of life), and my profile name is hitchhiker. Long live CryptoKitties All the crazyness aside, CryptoKitties came out of Axion Zen which is a Canadian based venture studio, basically they take a digital product from ideation to market. They have worked with some of the biggest names in the fortune 100 list. Here’s an article about who is behind the funding round: https://lnkd.in/eX-9rDn Some stats about CryptoKitties: — Average daily transaction volume 50Eth — Average daily active users 800 — Discord channel has 2000 online maybe a few hundred active and growing

Crypto Thrones
·
14 min
·
19 cards

Read “Tales From the Crypto-Sea by Rui Dong” on a larger screen, or in the Medium app!