Writing Prompt Challenge

Prompt #1: “I can’t keep guessing, just tell me what you want.”

“I can’t keep guessing, just tell me what you want.” I shook my head. I don’t want this. I know that. He stood in the doorway, trying to understand this episode of feels.

It was the third one this week, and with it only being Thursday I could feel his last lifeline of hope being called as the tension grew thicker.

“I don’t know babe…I wish I was as good as you at knowing what I want.” He rolled his eyes as he walked down the hallway. I braced myself for the front door slamming but he walked back in with cup of water and sat by me on the bed.

As he handed me the water, his next words were chosen mindfully as took a breath to steady himself. “I have an idea. You want to hear it?”

I nodded trying to hold back the tears of joy that this wasn’t going to turning into a fight.

“I really love it when you smile.” I looked away knowing what we were about to do. Part of me was angry because I should know what I want. I should have this down! I’m 25 years old for goodness sake.

“I like it when you hold my hand, and it feels really good to be with you. I love the way you encourage me to be the best version of myself. I really like it wnen you go out of your way to help someone else. Do you want to try?”

I sat there for a minute, contemplating if I was ready to give up my limitations. He waited patiently.

“I really like feeling good. I know that I am getting better at this. I also really love that you are here with me, helping me through this. I appreciate you.”

I could feel the air getting clearer. I could feel my shoulder release a bit of tension.

Read “Writing Prompt Challenge” on a larger screen, or in the Medium app!

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store