Into the Abyss: A DarkER Story

Yibing Du
Serious Games: 377G
3 min readDec 13, 2018

Intro & Intention:

Everyone loves detective stories, but not everyone understands what a tragedy means to the victim’s family. In this interactive fiction game, I would let players play the role of a mother who lost her daughter in a murder a year ago and investigates the crime by talking to people her daughter knew.

Having found the interactive fiction the most challenging project, I decided to finish it by fleshing out the story and adding interesting mechanisms. I also added sound effects and visual design.

The game is here! http://textadventures.co.uk/games/view/u4pyzpnevue-cdgixzseaq/into-the-abyss

Premise:

The story starts with the mother’s memories and unfolds as she begins her investigation. Here, I used scratch notes to show the characters, locations, plot, and journey in the story.

Characters and locations of the story
Plot and journey of the story

Process:

After several playtests with classmates and friends, I realized there were several major problems I need to solve.

Challenges I faced

As some people thought the story was confusing and were unsure about what they were supposed to learn from it, I realized I need to improve the story so that it is clear and engaging. I booked five appointments at Hume Center and got lots of valuable feedback. I revised the language (grammar, word choice & tone) to make it sound more like a mother talking, and I decided to stick to a dark story, which might be very different from many interactive fictions. I also made sure the length is enough to unfold the whole story but not too long that it becomes boring.

Notes I took

Moreover, I decided to assign a unique personality to each character so that it is easier for players to remember their roles and empathize with them. I decided to prioritize finding all clues to letting players make lots of choices because it creates a tension that is important to the story. I also added some sound effects, changed the layout, tried different revealing tricks, and edited the CSS stylesheet.

Screenshot
The final thing!

--

--