12 Agile learnings from 2021 to take forward into 2022

Here are some hard-earned lessons from the trenches.

Todd Lankford
Serious Scrum

--

2021 has been a wild ride on the Agile rollercoaster. This second year of remote work has seen Agile take some strange and unexpected turns. I’ve had some insanely inspiring moments. And I’ve also had a few to make me want to question the viability of Agile.

Good fortune has allowed me to work with twelve companies over the past two years. In 2020, I saw the patterns start to take shape, and in 2021 they became obvious trends. Now, as 2021 comes to an end, I have twelve reflections and go-forward strategies to share.

Hand holding a sparkler against the dark sky.
Photo by Cristian Escobar on Unsplash

№1: There are still newbies and revealing Agile to them remains a thrill

This first pattern was a pleasant surprise.

It was a surprise because I was not expecting any team or organization to be brand-spanking new to Agile. But it is more common than I had assumed. I’ve worked with several folks over the past two years who have never heard of Agile, Scrum, Kanban, or Lean — crazy, I know.

After my initial shock abated, I found something else that had gone dormant in me. I experienced again the thrill of revealing the new world of Agile methods to the uninitiated.

--

--

Todd Lankford
Serious Scrum

Hi–I’m Todd. I help managers and product teams maximize outcomes while respecting people. https://www.coachlankford.com