Be Careful! Jira Might Restrict You From Being Agile!

When Jira defines how you work, you miss the mark.

David Pereira
Serious Scrum
Published in
6 min readDec 21, 2021

--

Jira is one of the most common tools among Scrum Teams. Yet, using Jira doesn’t mean you are doing Scrum. Over the last years, I got annoyed by how easily teams fall into pitfalls with Jira. For example, some teams put a lot of effort into processes by setting complex workflows; meanwhile, they reduce collaboration because the workflow defines how they work.

Should the dog wag the tail, or should the tail wag the dog?

In my opinion, a tool should empower the team instead of modifying them. When the energy goes to the tool, teams miss the mark. Tools should not distract teams from focusing on delivering value. Teams should not forget the Agile Manifesto: Individuals and interactions over processes and tools.

Let me share with you why I believe teams misuse Jira and ultimately miss the chance of being Agile. Yet, this post is not about criticizing Jira but sharing my experience of what helped me progress and what held me back from it. I hope it helps you in your scenario.

Workflows Are Dangerous

Jira is pretty flexible with workflows; you can do whatever you want. That’s why it’s dangerous…

--

--

David Pereira
Serious Scrum

I don't write on Medium anymore. Find my content at Untrapping Product Teams https://dpereira.substack.com/