How I Stopped Worrying and Learned to Love Complexity

From Project Manager to Scrum Master

Willem-Jan Ageling
Serious Scrum

--

”In complex environments, what will happen is unknown” — Pieter, quoting the Scrum Guide

I was at my company for 5 months when I agreed to manage our most urgent project. My colleagues responded tauntingly. “There’s no way that anyone can pull it off” was one of the nicest remarks. “You took the shortest route to the exit” was already a bit more foreboding. As was ”You are much braver than I am”. It scared me a little. These were indications that I had my work cut out for me.

“You are much braver than I am.”

By nikles5 at Pixabay

People told me that I wasn’t the typical Project Manager. But I always followed established Project Management practices. I created plans based on the input from people that were going to do the work. I wouldn’t change the planning under senior stakeholders pressure.

I would only do this when the developers confirmed that there were ways to do things faster, like decreasing the scope. I would bring all parties together to facilitate the discussion of alternatives, creating a safe environment for everyone.

I was transparent about issues and risks. I informed the steering committee…

--

--

Willem-Jan Ageling
Serious Scrum

https://ageling.substack.com Writer, editor, founder of Serious Scrum. I love writing about maximizing value.