How to Pass the Professional Scrum Master II Certification the First Time Around

Conan Mercer
Serious Scrum
Published in
6 min readFeb 17, 2022

--

The Road to Certification

Do you want to learn how to become one of the only 2.8% that has passed the PSM II certification? In this article, I will show you what I did to successfully pass this exam.

Next, I wanted to prepare for and take the much more advanced certification, the Professional Scrum Master II.
In this post, I offer some advice, tips, and strategies to pass the exam, the first time around.

Increased value

The reasons why any qualification is valuable depend on many variables. It is widely accepted that if a very large number of people hold a certain qualification globally, its value is somewhat diminished. In the case of the Scrum Master certifications, many people hold the Professional Scrum Master I certification, compared to far fewer that hold the Professional Scrum Master II certification. To compare in terms of percentages, only 2.8% of people hold the PSM II compared to the PSM I.

Figure 1 below shows the latest certified count as of January 1st, 2021.

--

--