Overcoming The Worst Nightmare of Product Owners: Prioritization

There’s always more to do than we can handle. Prioritization is crucial to build meaningful products.

David Pereira
Serious Scrum
Published in
7 min readAug 27, 2020

--

In 2014, I was upset because we were missing our targets too often. So, I decided to talk to the Product Director. I hoped we could do something different for our upcoming challenges. Unfortunately, I was wrong. The conversation went like this:

Me: What is the most important thing we could do now to put us closer to our goals?

Director: Well. That’s a good question. We have many projects to do for this year. Around fifty projects must be done. Then, we will be where we want to be.

Me: But, what is the most important project? What do we want to achieve?

Director: All of them are equally important. We have to work on them in parallel. I know, it’s challenging. But we can do it.

I guess you can imagine the end of this story. It was another year full of frustrations and poor results. The root cause can be traced back to the inability to define priorities. This awkward situation taught many lessons about priorities, which I want to share with you.

“We Cannot Solve Our Problems With The Same Thinking…

--

--

David Pereira
Serious Scrum

I don't write on Medium anymore. Find my content at Untrapping Product Teams https://dpereira.substack.com/