Problem-solving not feature-building

SCRUM & LEAN UX | Episode 8

Sjoerd Nijland
Serious Scrum
Published in
5 min readAug 6, 2019

--

In one of the organisations I worked for I was drilled to ‘focus on solutions, not problems’. Now the authors of LEAN UX are teaching me to

“Fall in love with the problem, not the solution”LEAN UX, by Jeff Gothelf and Josh Seiden.

I learned I often didn’t take the time and effort to understand and appreciate the true nature of a problem addressed to me. Now this is one of those little epiphanies for me personally. Our experience might or might not be alike, but here it goes: I learned that I generally failed to investigate:

  • What conditions allowed the business problem to emerge?
  • What causes the problem to persist?
  • Why have others not solved it?
  • Why it is possibly keeping people awake at night?
  • What emotions does it raise?
  • How does it impact peoples’ behaviour
  • How does it impact their overall brand and/or product experience?

Sure, problems were solved, but what impact did it really make? Was I learning from it? Lean UX is guiding me to move from addressing the logical nature of a…

--

--

Sjoerd Nijland
Serious Scrum

Founder Serious Scrum. Scrum Trainer. Join the Road to Mastery.