Scrum Doesn’t Work for Big Companies. How True Is That?

Understanding how Scrum varies in different companies’ sizes.

David Pereira
Serious Scrum

--

Originally published in GoRetro

Scrum isn’t scalable. Whenever I hear that, I feel a strong punch in my guts. Yet, this perception is growing in the minds of many people. Too many people doubt Scrum can work in organizations with dozens or hundreds of teams. Within this assumption, they long for scaled agile frameworks. And there you go straight to the waterfall mindset.

Is it true Scrum doesn’t work for more than a handful of teams?

Do organizations have no choice but to use a scaled (fake) agile framework?

What’s the difference between Scrum with one, ten, and a hundred teams?

Teams will be trapped or empowered depending on how you answer such questions. I’ve experienced the two sides of the same coin and understood what leads to traps or empowerment.

Let me share what I learned about the differences between Scrum in different organization sizes, how to scale it properly, and the common traps ahead of you.

Photo by Mulyadi on Unsplash

Everything Starts with…

--

--

David Pereira
Serious Scrum

I don't write on Medium anymore. Find my content at Untrapping Product Teams https://dpereira.substack.com/