The road from Business Analyst to Product Owner

5 steps to move from a Business Analyst to a Product Owner

David Pereira
Serious Scrum

--

The transition from Business Analyst to a Product Owner is something that happens often and naturally. I started as a Developer, then became a Business Analyst and finally got promoted to Product Owner. During this journey, I faced many challenges I wish I knew before so that the transition would have been more natural. That’s why I want to share my learnings from this experience with you.

The traps I fell into are the following:

5 Steps to move from a Business Analyst to a Product Owner
5 Steps to move from a Business Analyst to a Product Owner

Why does this transition make sense?

The role of a Business Analyst is broad, which means that companies may use this name for different activities. However, the primary definition has some similarities with the role of a Product Owner; that’s why the transition can happen smoothly.

A business analyst’s primary objective is helping businesses cost-effectively implement technology solutions by precisely determining the requirements of a project or a program, and communicating them clearly to the key stakeholders.

--

--

David Pereira
Serious Scrum

I don't write on Medium anymore. Find my content at Untrapping Product Teams https://dpereira.substack.com/