This is how you achieve perfect sprint planning.

My insights from more than 10 years in Scrum Teams

David Theil
Serious Scrum
Published in
7 min readSep 26, 2022

--

Have you ever had a flow moment in a Sprint Planning? I have accompanied many Scrum Teams in Sprint Planning in different roles. I can now say: Yes, I had one. Here is the story of what happened.

I have been a developer, and Product Owner and right now I am a Scrum Master. The other day in Planning with one of my Scrum Teams I had one of those flow moments. The Scrum Event seemed to run like magic or like clockwork. I hardly had to moderate or intervene. We got through the Planning in no time at all and were happy with our outcome.

Since we finished early, I had time to reflect on the Planning and the differences between other Plannings. So, with this post, I want to summarize my most important findings and share them with you.

[source]

What do you need for a perfect Sprint Planning?

1. The Team formulates a clear Sprint Goal

The Scrum Guide 2020 divides the sprint planning event into three topics.

  • Topic One, answers the question of why the Sprint is valuable.
  • Topic Two, answers the question of what can be done in the Sprint.

--

--