Two years with SAFe — this is what stands out.

A carrot-chocolate-cream-cheese-blueberry-lemon-candy-crust-frozen-meat cake.

Fredrik Carleson
Serious Scrum

--

I remember how the pieces in the Tetris puzzle all came together after reading Henrik Kniberg's booklet "Scrum and XP from the trenches" in 2007. The year after, I took a Scrum Master certification from Ken Schwaber. For me, Scrum was the Rosetta Stone that helped me put what I already learned into a structure. For a team.

When it comes to working with many teams, I have never had the same "aha" experience. It is like the pieces in the Tetris don't fit together. For governance or scaling, I have worked with Prince2, Rational Unified Process, and LeSS. But none helped me solve the puzzle.

For the last two years, I have worked as a Lean-Agile Leader and Business Owner in a large SAFe implementation. I still haven't found what I am looking for. I have seen some impediments, though.

PublicDomainPictures from Pixabay

Let me introduce you to my very personal top three obstacles experiencing SAFe:

  • SAFe is impossible to grasp
  • Promotes hierarchy and unnecessary coordination
  • Roles, roles, and more roles

There are more impressions, of course, but these have created the most headaches for me. Would you…

--

--

Fredrik Carleson
Serious Scrum

Twenty years plus of continuous professional expertise in the information technology sector working in the private sector and United Nations in Europe and Asia.