Wading through the Swamp of Agile Mumbo Jumbo

Part two: Time for some Wicked Questions!

Sjoerd Nijland
Serious Scrum
Published in
10 min readNov 14, 2021

--

The story continues.

It’s Friday, 10 AM, and I’m meeting team Spaghetti for the ‘Post Mortem’ Kate scheduled us to have.

source: freepik

Kate and Jim won’t be joining. Thankfully. So it’s just the engineers (and me). I make brief eye contact with everyone and smile.

One unknown face pops out behind a laptop. This must be Brent. Aside from Brent, the group consists of Roberto, Alessandro, Giovanna, Gaurav, and Scott. Brent is singled out (by Jim) to work on the ‘Buglog’ from team BugBusters. Jim thought it was a good idea to single out the most experienced member of the team to fix the bugs.

I try to break the ice and lead everyone into the event. “How many Project Managers does it take to change the lightbulb?”

Brent smirks and answers my question. “How many? well, just one to get somebody else to do it, I guess?”

I smile and look around. Yes, this will be as awkward as I imagined it would be.

--

--

Sjoerd Nijland
Serious Scrum

Founder Serious Scrum. Scrum Trainer. Join the Road to Mastery.