We Need One Complete Product Team

Product discovery and delivery are better together.

Todd Lankford
Serious Scrum

--

We Need One Complete Product Team
Photo by “My Life Through A Lens” on Unsplash

I have experienced an interesting trend in the Agile and Scrum space this year. At first, it seems like a step to get us closer to our customer’s needs. But as I peel back the onion, I have seen how it can lead us down a treacherous path.

The trend involves Product Discovery. Several companies have approached me with a request, such as:

“We need a Product Discovery coach to help build capable Discovery Teams and improve the intake of backlog items with Delivery Teams.”

At first, the notion of Product Discovery coaching sounds intriguing. Design Thinking, customer research, and lightweight prototyping are engaging activities. Plus, exploring what customers need by engaging with them is not commonplace in today’s Scrum teams.

But my excitement dissipates when I absorb the rest of the request: “…and improve the intake of backlog items with Delivery Teams.”

--

--

Todd Lankford
Serious Scrum

Hi–I’m Todd. I help managers and product teams maximize outcomes while respecting people. https://www.coachlankford.com