What Not to Do With User Stories

It’s never about writing better requirements; it’s all about fostering collaboration.

David Pereira
Serious Scrum
Published in
6 min readJan 11, 2021

--

Did you know that most Scrum Teams in the world work with User Stories? Yet, several misconceptions hold teams back from thriving. I’ve stumbled upon some questions that lead teams in the wrong direction, for example:

  • How can I write better User Stories?
  • How can I provide more detailed requirements for the developers?
  • How can we get better estimates with User Stories?

Well, it’s never about writing better User Stories. It’s also not about defining precise requirements. User Stories are a tool to foster collaboration and ensure we don’t forget the most critical part of any product or service: The End-User.

I’ve committed countless mistakes with User Stories. That’s why I’d like to share with you some of my learnings of what NOT to do with User Stories. Hopefully, you can use User Stories to solve the end-users’ real problems.

Recently, I shared a video about what NOT to do with User Stories on my YouTube channel. If you are interested, please watch the following video.

--

--

David Pereira
Serious Scrum

I don't write on Medium anymore. Find my content at Untrapping Product Teams https://dpereira.substack.com/