Which skills do you need to succeed as a Product Owner?

The six skills that will help you to overcome the daily challenges of being a Product Owner

David Pereira
Serious Scrum
Published in
9 min readSep 3, 2020

--

Robot under the light
Photo by James Pond on Unsplash

The Product Owner is the most complex role of Scrum, in my opinion. If you ask ten different companies what a Product Owner is, you may get ten different answers. Scrum puts a lot of responsibility in one single person. Yet, the Scrum Guide is vague on how to perform a great job as a Product Owner. In other words, to succeed as a Product Owner, you are on your own, my friend. Good luck.

The Product Owner is responsible for maximizing the value of the product resulting from work of the Development Team. How this is done may vary widely across organizations, Scrum Teams, and individuals.

The Scrum Guide, November 2017

What takes to stand out as a Product Owner?

Over my journey as a Product Owner, I’ve been through countless challenges. Sometimes I experienced positive outcomes, other times adverse ones. But, I’ve always learned from everything. After many learnings, I identified the required skills to thrive as a Product Owner. Let me share with you what worked well for me.

  1. Communication: Product Owners sit between chairs. We need to understand…

--

--

David Pereira
Serious Scrum

I don't write on Medium anymore. Find my content at Untrapping Product Teams https://dpereira.substack.com/