Why I love the courage of others to give me feedback

Sander Dur
Serious Scrum
Published in
4 min readJul 19, 2021

--

The Scrum framework comes with a few values; focus, openness, commitment, courage, and respect (FOCCR). Willem-Jan Ageling wrote a great article on those values earlier this week. Embodying these values while doing the work, bring the empirical pillars of transparency, inspection, and adaptation to life. And by that, we build trust.

Trust, as you might know, is the foundation of teamwork. We cannot truly create any value if we don’t trust each other. I personally advocate being open to feedback, in order to build trust. For one, I need feedback in order to do my job. Let me explain what I mean.

I cannot read your mind

“D*mn, you can’t?” No, and I have no real interest in that, to be honest. I need you to be open about what you think, what you feel. Towards the work, the environment, the team, and towards me. Be ruthless with. But most of all, be very clear.

Being direct and clear leaves me no chance to interpret what you mean in a different way. It might be that I’m Dutch, and we have a very direct culture, but I like the unambiguity of having my feedback served as is. If you think I suck, tell me so and tell me why I suck.

Source: Nick Fewings on Unsplash

Blindspots will sneak in the ways that we work. That goes for me, too. I try to be the best Scrum Master I can be…

--

--

Sander Dur
Serious Scrum

PST at Scrum.org. Scrum Mastering from the Trenches. Podcast host at “Mastering Agility”, found on all big platforms. LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/in/sanderdur