Why Too Many Scrum Masters Are Not Ready for This Tricky Job

Wearing a Scrum Master’s hat doesn’t mean getting the job done

David Pereira
Serious Scrum
Published in
6 min readSep 8, 2022

--

Originally published in GoRetro

I must be honest. It took me years to understand the importance of Scrum Master. I used to think most teams wouldn’t need someone to facilitate sessions and schedule meetings. Well, I obviously missed the point.

Good Scrum Masters can help teams get comfortable with the uncomfortable. They encourage leadership and stakeholders to embrace the unknown. They help organizations become proper agile environments. Yet, it’s one of the most challenging jobs you can imagine. Resistance and misunderstanding are all over the place; you won’t find a perfect recipe to excel in this role.

Companies face the challenge of hiring someone they need but do not see that clearly.

Photo by Dalibor Perina on Unsplash

Apart from overcoming anti-patterns, it’s challenging for professionals to know what it takes to become a Scrum Master. I would say it takes a lot of skin, experience, and humility to master this role. Yet, how the market defines being a good fit for Scrum Masters scares me.

Most companies won’t hire someone without a Scrum Master certificate. And the certificate itself…

--

--

David Pereira
Serious Scrum

I don't write on Medium anymore. Find my content at Untrapping Product Teams https://dpereira.substack.com/