The cutesy wording of this popup does not override the fact that this page is trying to feed me 49 ads or background scripts in a visit to a single page.

How I use AdBlock to Punish Greedy Websites and Reward Responsible Ones

Invigilator
Seriously You’re making My Head Hurt
4 min readMay 15, 2017

--

Using AdBlock in your browser does not have to be an all or nothing affair.

For those who aren’t familiar with it, AdBlock is a handy browser extension that can not only reduce annoying ad feeds, but protect you from some of the malicious scripts that can hijack your browser without clicking on a single link.

AdBlocker is easy to use, just go to your browser extensions, search for it and add it. It will automatically start blocking certain types of ad feeds when you visit websites.

Ads blocked on one page

You Have the Power!

As you visit web sites, not only will AdBlock block out ads, but it gives you a handy little counter that lets you know how many ads it has blocked on the page you are currently viewing. If there are a lot of ads blocked, chances are it a greedy site and often it’s a good way to confirm you have fallen for click bait. You can have it off or on for a single page or the entire domain, you can also temporarily pause it altogether.

AdBlock has the ability to be a moral compass for the future of advertising. It is a tool, that used wisely, can reward website developers that focus on quality of ads, avoid sleazy ad feed services, and show respect for their site visitors.

Turn it Off or Leave it On?

I use some simple guidelines to decide if I will not turn off AdBlock for a domain.

When I leave it on:

  • When there are more than a dozen ads being blocked, no matter what the page is for. Quality not quantity.
  • When I have paid for a subscription to the site and I am logged in. I paid my way, I don’t feel obligated to be fed ads. This includes if I have paid indirectly for a service such as a TV station that I pay for access to in my cable or satellite TV package.
  • When there are less than 12 ads blocked and I turn it on only to find the ads displayed are click-bait and scams or 100% derived from the topics of my most recent Facebook Messenger conversations with friends. We all know that happens, we don’t have to condone it.
  • When I follow a link to a news article and get a pop up saying “disable Adblock to view this article and adblocker shows me dozens of ads blocked”. No thanks. I guarantee you, if your article is real news, I can find it on another site that is not as greedy as you.
  • If ever, at any time, the site has fed me a malicious script that attempts to hijack my browser.
  • When the content of the site does not reflect the link I used to arrive there, such as click bait headlines. Low quality content usually goes hand in hand with low quality ad feeds.

When I turn it off:

  • When a site with quality content has few ads blocked I will turn off AdBlock for that domain and give them a chance.
  • When I am a subscriber but have only paid a nominal fee for that subscription. If I’m paying $300+ a year, no, you don’t get to feed me ads, but if I’ve only paid $10, then I understand that a few ads are what keep the subscription costs low.
  • When I am on a local or regional site and the ads are for local or regional businesses. Even if I pay a subscription, I am more than happy to have ads included that support my local brick and mortar businesses as opposed to syndicate fed garbage about the latest weight loss scam or Rayban sunglasses.

Website owners and developers need to stop looking for ways to get people to stop using AdBlock on their websites, and start using the data available to give people a reason to feel confident turning it off.

--

--