As a writer, where do I belong?

Servaas Schrama
The Parttime Visionary
2 min readAug 30, 2017

I write different sorts of posts. Mostly non fiction, some about writing itself, some very personal, some are more philosofical in nature, a lot about connecting to nature, a little about spirituality and some fiction pieces, which bears the question 'what kind of writer am I?'

Personally, I like to think of myself as a thinker more than a writer. I would be at ease saying I think, and sometimes I scribble. I do enjoy scribbling, it works as a catalyst for me, allowing me to purge, to let go of things. Sometimes I feel like something is blocking me, and getting it out on paper helps lighten the load.

Looking at the stats for my posts, I cannot deduct what kind of pieces are more appreciated than others, my numbers aren't that high anyway (which is fine by the way). There are a few that apparently attracted more people than others, and those are my posts celebrating writing, tips and tricks and more insight on how I do my writing, but as I do not have that many readers, and not being a *real* writer to begin with, who am I to give advice?

Apparently my pieces on writing are relatively well received, and I enjoy writing those, but I enjoy writing my other stuff as well. So all of this leads up to the simple question of what should I do, better translated in this particular matter as what kind of writer am I, if any at all? Where do I stand?

Now I'd love to hear from you, the reader, but I know this writing game and my numbers aren't that high, so I do not expect much. Not meant in a mean way or insult, just being real. I do believe the answer is not only clear but also right in front of me, but who am I to decide?

--

--