Writing is for everyone…and no one.

Servaas Schrama
The Parttime Visionary
3 min readDec 27, 2017

These are the last words I’ll write.

For years and years, I dreamt of becoming a writer. I thought I could become one, just by thinking I could. I ignored the fact that it takes hard work. I ignored the fact that it is not for everyone. I ignored the fact that I did not really know what to write about, and finally I ignored the fact that I cannot even write.

©Dead Poets Society

I had the idea that I would become a writer, because I had the personality, inteligence and foremost, the talent to. I figured the hard part was the actual writing or typing, which I would be able to overcome without too much trouble. I thought of the romantic idea of being a writer, without ever having to become one. I was a daydreamer. I still am.

I never became a writer.

I did write, though. Still do. Not daily, but close. Most stays in my private writings. Only now an then, I allow a few words to escape into the wild.

Being a writer is not for me. I know that now, and I am fine with it. I am a dreamer, an idea builder, a talker, a creative mind, but I am certainly not someone who sits down and finishes something. I don’t have the patience. Being a writer requires this, so it is not for me. But writing is one of the many outlets I use and need to get things out of my head, which is always full, and always distracted. So in a way, writing is a necessity for me, part of what I am, not what I am.

I read a lot. I see a lot of people that are trapped in the same idea I once was — hoping that just by writing, no matter what about or how good or bad, they will become that writer they see in their dreams. I wish them the insight I have gained over the years. Wisdom comes with age, as they say.

Hank Moody ©Californication

So who should write? Easy. All of us. Why? Well, that depends. Some write to extract knowledge. Some write because they like to. Others write because they are talented. It all depends on the person you are. Can you learn to write? No. Can you become succesful at writing, by following lessons from someone else? No. But can you learn and improve your writing, and therewith, what you gain from it? Absolutely. So should you continue to write? Absolutely. Never give up, but grow perspective on yourself, what your writing is for, and how you’d like to develop it. And love it. Enjoy it. You’re great, in your own way. Explore yourself. Love yourself, and finally, express yourself. Write!

--

--