Cookie Service Safari

Irene Park
Service Design Innovation
3 min readSep 13, 2023

I’ve always had a sweet tooth, and usually crave something decadent and satisfyingly sweet. I love to explore new places to eat around New York City, some of which are an happy accidental find.

Followed by a waft of the smell of baking butter, I stopped by Funny Face Bakery on the way home after school. I was immediately drawn to their shop, decorated in an inviting lavender and shelved with a unique array of cookies that stood behind a glass window.

After looking more closely, I was surprised to discover that this bakery was no ordinary bakery. Sure, they did sell the classic cookies that we all know and love, but there were cookies that were skillfully decorated with faces, animals, words, and even different types of foods.

As if that wasn’t enough to draw me in, I cautiously opened the door to find a petite shop that had didn’t waste space on all four walls. To my left was a shelf that was organized with almost every category of decorated cookie that you could imagine. To my right, a mirror plugged with their Instagram handle for customers to take pictures in. Directly in front of me was a menu with a small counter and an employee where I could pay.

There were cookies both on display and tucked away onto the shelves of the store, carefully labeled and organized to let us eat a version of practically whatever we could think of. The bakery also had a cookie suggestion box for new innovations and a sign at front that read “Ask us about seasonal flavors & custom cookies!”. Behind was an open kitchen with a rack on display of their newly baked and fresh cookies. For customers who crave a drink with their dessert, the bakery had a selection of coffee, milk, and water for purchase at the counter.

I was tempted by their seasonal lemon cookie that was infused with an olive oil from Spain. At the top of the glass counter was the bottle itself, on display for purchase for customers as well.

After ordering the cookie, the employee carefully used another bottle of the Graza olive oil to drizzle it on top of my warm lemon cookie. She carefully placed it in a box and added a sticker on top of the shop logo and name. The pay was quick and easy. I paid with Apple Pay which I just scanned at the counter and I was ready to go. Funny Face Bakery is definitely a place that I recommend going for not only a cookie to satisfy your cravings, but also for an experience that will keep you inside the store once you step in. It’s a place that learned to tie creativity, design, and baking altogether, and what else could be better than that?

--

--