Service Safari at 오복수산

Sam Lee
Service Design Innovation
3 min readSep 15, 2021

(OH-BOK-SU-SAN)

Traditional Kaisendon (Assorted fish over warm Japanese rice)

It would always be a 40min drive to this amazing Kaisendon restaurant. As I go, I asked my girlfriend to reserve using the tabling app so we did not have to wait. She told me there was no wait. The location was in Cheongdang-dong where it consisted of many small ally ways in which cars met some traffic issues. Fortunately, The heavily trained valet manager ran up to my car and kindly took care of parking.

Tabling App used for waitlisting

I went upstairs to the second floor in which it was located. They had a Kiosk in. Which you could put up your name for the waitlist, however, we already used the app so waiting was not required. As we entered the manager kindly greeted me and asked for our vaccination card and checked our body temperature as well. Due to covid protocols, the manager assisted us to a table and the table beside us was left out for social distancing. Hand sanitizers and hand wipes. Once we were all sanitized, Our waiter in a beanie came with water and handed us our menu.

COVID-19 Sanitary Measures

Since we have already been to this restaurant multiple times, we knew exactly what we wanted. The menu consisted of a variety of Kaisendons which were assorted fish on top of warm rice served with miso soup, seaweed, and pickled condiments. I ordered the basic Kaisendon which was 15 dollars and my girlfriend order the uni-ikura-kaisendon that was 30 dollars. The food was served within 10 mins which was an amazing presentation all in one tray. On one side of the table, there was a guide that told us the best ways to eat a kaisendon and the different soy sauces they had. As a large portion person, I asked for more rice, seaweed which was all complimentary.

Stunning Presentation of our meal

After our meal was finished, we walked out up to the cashier and he asked us how our food was and my answer was “excellent”. Since it was not the first time I visited this restaurant, the waiter wearing the beanie came over to me for some small talk which was very pleasing. Finally, We went downstairs with our valet coupon and 3 dollar tip. The valet manager kindly asked which direction I was heading and brought out my car so that it pointed out my direction.

Valet parking system

The entire experience was smooth, fast, comforting, and luxurious in all forms. I did not seem to see any touchpoints in which needed improvement. This is one of those restaurants that truly deserve a Michelin star for its service and taste. Not only did my friends and family enjoyed this place but also, every single client that I went with had the same answer. “Let's visit again”

--

--