Friendship with Fast Food

Lillian K Wang
Service Design Innovation
3 min readFeb 10, 2021
Pile of Various Fast Food (Pizza, Fries, Burgers)

For me, fast food has always been one of my go-to comfort foods. Whether I’m feeling down or have an urge to indulge, fast food (specifically, burgers and fries) is always there for me, right at my finger tips. Though I might regret it after, the temporary bliss and euphoria is always worth the shame and suffering (fun fact, I’m lactose intolerant and have many food sensitivities).

Despite the risks, I always seem to give in. Whenever I eat fast food, even if it’s only for a split second, I forget about all of my troubles and worries. It is just me and my delicious food. The food feels like a warm blanket inside my mouth and gives me the utmost comfort and safety.

Specifically, when I’ve had a long, tiresome day and need a pick-me-up or am feeling too lazy to cook dinner, I will head over to the Five Guys (a fast food franchise) near NYU Tandon to get a double cheeseburger and fries (either regular or with Cajun seasoning, depending on my mood) with loads of ketchup on the side.

During my trip to Five Guys, I encounter many touch points or areas of interaction. First, I am greeted by the bright fluorescent light that shines from the wide, open windows of the store. Then, I am drawn to a beaming red LED sign that reads “Open”. In front of the restaurant, there are red tables and seats for sitting. I walk towards the double doors and enter inside.

Once I am in, I am immediately swept in by the smell of freshly cut french fries. I start to get hungrier and crave the burger and fries more. As I take my first few steps in, I see signs that direct me to the line and see a waiting apparatus as well as a huge empty area to order to my left. I follow the guided path and look forward to see the staff waiting to take my order at the multiple registers as well as a large simplistic menu. Next to the registers is a bin with ice that contains drinks as well as a bin that has complimentary boiled peanuts for customers to eat. I walk up to the register and place my order for a double cheeseburger and a regular side of fries.

After my order is rung up, I follow the guided open path to my right with my receipt in my hand. As I walk towards a pick up counter and wait for my order, I am able to see an open kitchen and my order as well as others being prepped, right in front of my eyes. If I want to make any sudden changes with my order, I am able to step right up and ask one of the staff members. I walk over towards the pick up counter and wait.

As I wait, I look up and see that various colorful, bold signs with raving reviews and praise from various famous newspapers and celebrities pasted along the walls of the restaurant. I pass the time by reading a few of them. One reads, “ Fries are cut wide enough to turn out creamy rather than crunchy… from the San Francisco Chronicle.” The more signs and reviews I read, the happier and more excited I feel to taste my food.

I go to the condiment station to the right of the pick up counter and take packets of ketchup. My order is called and I walk up to pick up my order. The staff member smiles, hands me the bag with my burger and fries (adding extra inside the bag) and asks if I would like a plastic bag to carry everything. I reply yes and happily leave the restaurant through another, closer exit door near me. I am happy and can’t wait to get back to my dorm to eat my delicious meal.

Sometimes, the entire process of having to physically walk to the restaurant, order, and wait for the food can sometimes be dreadful and annoying. However, I always end up putting up with it and giving in for the sake of a delicious meal. The moment I take a bite, all my struggles and worries disappear.

--

--