Gopchang Service Safari

Vanda Lin
Service Design Innovation
3 min readFeb 10, 2021

I’m someone who easily gets sick of food, so I constantly need change. That’s why I’m always stuck when people ask what my favorite food is. However, comfort food is slightly easier to define since I like anything that warms me up, and spicy food quite literally does the job.

Whenever I eat something spicy, for a moment, I’m able to empty my mind. The spice attacks all my senses and I feel all my stress and worries melt away. Despite the immediate suffering, I always give in to my cravings.

Whenever I’ve had a long day and want to chill with friends, I tend to stop at Gopchang Story. People tend to get uneasy at the mention of grilled intestines, but it’s delicious. It’s definitely either you like it or dislike it, but fortunately, I was able to convert all my friends into fans. We usually get the spicy marinated large intestines and a bowl of cold noodles. These two items make for a perfect combination, and whenever I’m away, I get cravings.

There are many touchpoints or areas of interaction at Gopchang Story. Right at the entrance, signs indicating their hours, and a banner with delicious food, hoping to catch the eyes of unsuspecting passersby. Once you decide to take the chance, you follow the stairs to the second floor, where the restaurant is located.

Up there, you see signs indicating hours, ‘please wait to be seated,’ and a sanitary inspection grade as reassurance. Most importantly, there is a bolded sign informing customers that they do not take visa. Next to all the signs, is a tablet where you can tap in and wait in line. As you wait, you crowd around the stairs talking with friends and taking in all the advertising images on the wall.

Finally, an employee comes out and calls out our name. You immediately follow suit as they remind you that they don’t take visa. You nodded in understanding, and they lead you to your table. The dim lights and wooden tables make the restaurant a perfect place to talk loud and relax. The smell of grilled meat filled the air, and you feel your mouth salivate. They asked if you want plastic bags for your jackets and you quickly took them up on the offer. You gently place your jackets in, hoping the meat smell didn’t already penetrate your jacket. You can already imagine the looks of understanding from strangers as you walk home, knowing you fell into your cravings.

With a ‘hey’ from your friend, you’re back in reality. Without even looking at the menu, you called over a waiter and ordered your usual. They repeated it back and you gently lay back, waiting. Your eyes roam around the restaurant, and you notice the ATM near the entrance. “Oh, that’s smart,” you thought. Your eyes wander over to all the pictures they placed throughout.

After the torturous wait is over, you see them coming over and placing a plate of marinated grilled intestines in front of you. The light dusting of onion powder sprinkled on top of the meat, covering it evenly. The employee expertly moves the pieces of meat around, making sure even one is evenly grilled. Your fascinated eyes linger after their every movement. Finally, it’s time to eat. You grabbed your chopsticks and picked up some grilled chives, jalapeno, and juicy fat meat. The perfect bite was followed suit by a bite of refreshing cold noodles. The vinegary soup helped cut the greasiness from the meat, and you can’t help but continue this pattern. Before you knew it, an empty plate is staring back. The slight disappointment but also satisfaction you feel is what makes you come back for more.

--

--