Papa John’s Pizza Service Safari

Brian Chen
Service Design Innovation
4 min readFeb 10, 2021

For my service safari, I decided to conduct active research for my favorite comfort food: Pizza. My first step into this service safari is by trying to locate a Pizzeria that’s closest to my home and ordering it online due to a snow-storm and Covid-19 pandemic. During this stage, I searched up “Pizza near me” Google showed digital touchpoints such as the map and location of pizzerias near me and further information about each pizzeria. These touchpoints help me narrow down my searches for a Pizzeria that’s most suitable for me. I chose Papa John’s because it is the closest to my house and has a decent rating. After tapping on it, I was directed to the Apple App Store where it asked me to download the Papa John’s app. This is where I encountered touchpoints such as the download button, the app rating/description, and some previews of it. These digital touchpoints give me further insights into the app and market the food and user interface experience. Upon opening the Papa Johns’s app after downloading, I was greeted with a welcome page to create an account. The digital touchpoints were the required information to sign up for an account and also an option to receive marketing emails/texts from Papa John’s. The app jumped straight into the home page after creating an account. The digital touchpoints I found on the home page were the user welcome, pictures, featured pizza, popular items, food categories, and special deals. I noticed that the featured pizza in the big menu picture is the “stuffed crust pizza.” I tapped on the “specials” tab and the digital touchpoint are the recommendations of different food items and deals. I noticed that the “stuffed crust pizza” at the top of the “specials” so I decided to go for that. The next step was to select a topping, the digital touchpoints are the pre-selected topping choices such as pepperoni, sausage, and cheese. I chose the pepperoni option and the app proceeded to the next step. The page showed a close-up picture of stuffed crust pepperoni pizza and the digital touchpoints are: the picture, food content description, and “customize” the pizza. The first part of customizing the pizza starts with “base” and the touchpoints are: choosing a type of sauce, amount of sauce, and bake level. I chose extra original sauce with normal bake and proceeded to the next step. The second step is selecting the “cheese” on the pizza and the digital touchpoints are the cheese options and the number of calories for each type of cheese. I went with normal cheese and proceed to the next step. The third step is selecting “fresh veggies” topping on the pizza and the digital touchpoints are the veggie options and the number of calories for each veggie. I don’t like eating veggie so I skipped this step. Lastly, the final step of pizza customization is selecting a meat topping and the digital touchpoints are different meat topping, number of calories, and topping area on the pizza. I stuck with the preselected pepperoni topping on the entire pizza. After finishing the pizza customization, the app proceeds to the order checkout page, and the digital touchpoints are adding customization to favorite, order detail/price, rewards, suggestions, and payment. Upon successful payment, the app showed a thank you page and the digital touchpoints are the time estimate and order tracking. The order tracking page shows digital touchpoints such as current pizza status, share order for a discount, and customer service. After waiting roughly 20 minutes, the pizza is ready for pickup and the digital touchpoint shows a notification that the order is ready for pickup. When I arrived outside the Papa John’s Pizzeria, I noticed a few touchpoints: the big company logo to make sure people know that this is Papa John’s, special deal posters to attract customers walking by, and an open sign to let people know they’re open. Inside the store, there are touchpoints everywhere; wet floor warning to raise awareness, social distance signs, a giant napkin box, menu, employee, and slogan on the counter. I also noticed touchpoints on the pizza box such as a QR code and an advertisement that says “This isn't just stuffed crust. This is Papa John’s crust stuffed.” The last part of this Papa John’s pizza service safari is finally arriving home and opening up the pizza box. The touchpoints I noticed were Pizza, jalapeno, and garlic sauce. YUM, it was DELICIOUS!!

--

--